Google Home - Routines

Discussion in 'Tech News' started by Sajo, Jul 11, 2019 at 8:31 AM.

  1. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    13,708
    Likes Received:
    11,608
    Trophy Points:
    2,463
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +12,162
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z4
    This is not new, Assistant Routines has been around for a while now. But it's worth posting for those that may not be familiar with the functionality. You can use Routines on your Google Home devices to perform multiple tasks with one command. From the Google support page: "Get daily help with your personal routines. Simply say one command and your Google Assistant will do multiple things." In recent months Google has even rolled Routines into basic things on our phones like the alarm clock. Ever noticed that Assistant symbol underneath each saved alarm in your clock app? You can tap that to set Routines for when you dismiss your alarm (read the news, turn lights on, play music, adjust the thermostat, read your calendar, etc.).

    Here is the Google Support page with all the specific information: Set up & manage Routines - Android - Google Nest Help

    Note: You can also setup Routines on your phone by going into the Google app > Settings > Google Assistant > Assistant tab > Routines.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Gudasau

    Gudasau Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,159
    Likes Received:
    905
    Trophy Points:
    1,483
    Location:
    Mountaineer living in Buckeye Nation
    Ratings:
    +932
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z-Force
    Thanks for these posts! Since I was using the Moto app, I hadn't "activated" my Google Assistant (read somewhere ages ago that they didn't work together). Now that my Moto Talk to me, or drive, or whatever it's called, doesn't seem to be cooperating, I want to move on with the Google Assistant, but honestly didn't even know what all it offered. This is extremely helpful! Thank you!

    Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
     
  3. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    13,708
    Likes Received:
    11,608
    Trophy Points:
    2,463
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +12,162
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z4
    Assistant and the Moto app do work together. It just depends on your phone model whether you have to setup your Voice Model with the Moto app first...or with the Google app (Assistant) first. Your Voice Model is you recording the "OK Google..." launch phrase. On the original Moto Z series you had to setup your Voice Model with the Moto app first. In subsequent Moto Z phones you have to setup your Voice Model with the Google app (Assistant) first.

    Sent from my moto z4 using Tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. Gudasau

    Gudasau Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,159
    Likes Received:
    905
    Trophy Points:
    1,483
    Location:
    Mountaineer living in Buckeye Nation
    Ratings:
    +932
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z-Force
    Okay..... Don't go into detail, but remember, I'm still rocking the original Z, so that's all I've known.
    I'll get there when I find some time to read up and doink around with it.
    I do truly appreciate all your time you devote to helping folks like me

    Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
     
  5. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    13,708
    Likes Received:
    11,608
    Trophy Points:
    2,463
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +12,162
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z4
    Since you said you bought a Z4, it doesn't have Moto Voice (sadly) so when you setup the new phone Google will prompt you to record a Voice Model for all the Assistant hands free stuff. Just follow the in screen prompts and you'll be good to go.

    Sent from my moto z4 using Tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Gudasau

    Gudasau Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,159
    Likes Received:
    905
    Trophy Points:
    1,483
    Location:
    Mountaineer living in Buckeye Nation
    Ratings:
    +932
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z-Force
    Thanks, I will. Do I get to call my assistant something other than "OK Google"?

    Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
     
  7. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    13,708
    Likes Received:
    11,608
    Trophy Points:
    2,463
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +12,162
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z4
    No. That's the only launch phrase.

    Sent from my moto z4 using Tapatalk
     
  8. Gudasau

    Gudasau Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,159
    Likes Received:
    905
    Trophy Points:
    1,483
    Location:
    Mountaineer living in Buckeye Nation
    Ratings:
    +932
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z-Force
    That's no fun...

    Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
     
  9. PereDroid

    PereDroid DF News Team Reporter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,901
    Likes Received:
    3,673
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +4,266
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Turbo 2
    Agree.
    Need more voices too.

    Tapatalk'ing on my 1+ 6t
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Gudasau

    Gudasau Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,159
    Likes Received:
    905
    Trophy Points:
    1,483
    Location:
    Mountaineer living in Buckeye Nation
    Ratings:
    +932
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z-Force
    Haven't gotten to do anything with the assistant yet. Hoping for a slow day at work tomorrow.
    I'm moved into my new phone, just need to tweak things after I recharge my own batteries. It's way past my bedtime


    Sent from my moto z4 using Tapatalk
     
  11. bruben7886

    bruben7886 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1,639
    Likes Received:
    1,651
    Trophy Points:
    1,548
    Ratings:
    +1,725
    Now (for awhile) there's also been....hey Google

    So.... There's always that choice

    Sent from my Moto Z (2) using Tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 2
  12. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    13,708
    Likes Received:
    11,608
    Trophy Points:
    2,463
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +12,162
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z4
    Good point, thanks Bruben. You can use either OK Google or Hey Google. But no custom launch phrase with Assistant. That was one of those special Moto Voice features that died after the original Moto Z series. Once Assistant came pre-installed on Moto phones (starting somewhere around the Z2 era) no more custom launch phrase.

    Sent from my moto z4 using Tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 1