Google Earth now in market w/o factory reset

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by aminaked, Apr 7, 2010.

  1. aminaked
    Offline

    aminaked New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California, USA
    I've seen a few threads where people suggested doing a factory reset and Google Earth would appear in the market. Well, I did NOT do a reset and today it appears in the market. Anyone else see it now when they couldn't before?
  2. Gkope
    Offline

    Gkope New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, just saw it this morning for the first time also. I had done my 2.1 update manually. I don't think it made a difference with this issue though.
  3. aminaked
    Offline

    aminaked New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California, USA
    Yeah mine was regular ota update.
  4. mikenilson
    Offline

    mikenilson New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago Area
    For a whole day after the OTA update I did not see Google Earth either. But yesterday it reappeared.
  5. Sweettooth
    Offline

    Sweettooth New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    Ahh...so they finally fixed it. No matter. The app is huge and pretty much useless compared to how far the Maps application has come.
  6. redlinerobert
    Offline

    redlinerobert New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you, for saving me a download I wont need. :icon_ banana:
  7. aaf709
    Offline

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,189
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal
    I saw it today too; not by searching the Market, but it had appeared on the list you see when the Market first comes up.
  8. GerryG35
    Offline

    GerryG35 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Jersey
    I received the OTA update last weekend and this morning Google Earth appeared in the Top Free applications - for the first time at least since the update. Yes it's huge (better than 5 meg) but it is cool and I can spare the room for it. I will have to find better instructions to fully use its capabilities.
  9. jsh1120
    Offline

    jsh1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,462
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    I suspect its appearance has something to do with the Google Maps update that took place yesterday. At least on my Droid it appeared only after I'd done the Maps update. Why that would be true for some people and not others is a mystery I'm not willing to invest in resolving.
  10. coolkidd
    Offline

    coolkidd New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, what I with mine is download it manually, then uninstall it, then went to market and search again... and what do you know, now I see it!
  11. 88g
    Offline

    88g New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can't see it. Why?
  12. 88g
    Offline

    88g New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've factory reset already. But still can't see it. Any mean to contact google inc.
  13. bastosero
    Offline

    bastosero New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was trying to update my Google Earth app when I saw there was an update for it, but if I try to update it, it says it is "unsuccessful" and I get a "[​IMG]CPU ABI" error. Any fix for this?
  14. aminaked
    Offline

    aminaked New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California, USA
    I downloaded google earth, checked it out once, and decided it was inferior to the map app in every meaningful way. Just forget it. Stop doing factory resets and battery pulls. The phone doesn't really need resets and battery pulls. I've only allowed myself a reboot every few days and things have been OK. Most of the time I don't believe that extreme measures are necessary on the Droid.
  15. JimmyD
    Offline

    JimmyD Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Are you running the 2.1 OS?
  16. 88g
    Offline

    88g New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    android 2.1
  17. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    You could try, but don't expect much out of Google. I'm sorry, I don't have a link for you but there is a way to "contact" them, the problem is they are not customer service oriented. That's one of the reasons why the N1 is IMHO a bit of a disaster, there is no customer service for it.