Google Chrome For Android Beta Available Now

Discussion in 'Android News' started by cereal killer, Feb 7, 2012.

  1. cereal killer

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,173
    Likes Received:
    914
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +932
    Current Phone Model:
    Nokia Lumia Icon


    Chrome for Android (beta) is now available in the Android Market for select phones and tablets running 4.0.x Ice Cream Sandwich. We'd love to hear users feedback on the stability and performance of the browser on your device. Enjoy!!

    Source: Chrome blogspot
     
  2. apotheosis415

    apotheosis415 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bummer

    Only ICS? Dang!
     
  3. Big Ry

    Big Ry Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Blacksburg, VA
    Ratings:
    +10
    Sweet!!

    Edit: its not showing up for the GNex :(
    Edit2: following the market link in OP gives an error
    Edit3: following URL in browser and installing that way worked ;)

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
     
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2012
  4. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    11,056
    Likes Received:
    752
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +769
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy s4
    How can it not show up for the Nexus?!
     
  5. ConqSoft

    ConqSoft Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Ratings:
    +12
    Dunno. I just installed from the web interface. Shows the Nexus as a compatible device there, and installs fine.
     
  6. thesoldier

    thesoldier Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    YES! I hope its as smooth as the PC version...although it is still a beta.

    Edit: shows up perfectly fine in the market for me.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2012
  7. pc747

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,363
    Likes Received:
    1,619
    Trophy Points:
    958
    Ratings:
    +1,658
    Got it working on my rezound running ics.
     
  8. pc747

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,363
    Likes Received:
    1,619
    Trophy Points:
    958
    Ratings:
    +1,658
    any of you able to access tabs you have open on your computer that is not working for me and not sure if im doing something wrong.:frown:
     
  9. Big Ry

    Big Ry Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Blacksburg, VA
    Ratings:
    +10
    I dont know. I did a search, and it didnt come up.
     
  10. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    11,056
    Likes Received:
    752
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +769
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy s4
    same.

    Going to try the browser download

    edit: Got it working through the browser url. Pretty cool how it's working on ICS, but I don't see too much of a difference between this browser and the stock ICS browser.
     
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2012
  11. Riley

    Riley Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    I installed/pushed it fine from my PC browser in google market online and it is on my Nexus no prob, but searching on the app on my phone didn't show it when I first tried.
     
  12. wicked

    wicked DF Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,171
    Likes Received:
    547
    Trophy Points:
    228
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Ratings:
    +561
    Current Phone Model:
    Sony Xperia Z3
    Twitter:
    @MikeAlvez
    Shows up for me on my phone. It's the 13th result when searching for "Chrome" in the android market app.

    Downloading now.
     
  13. pc747

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,363
    Likes Received:
    1,619
    Trophy Points:
    958
    Ratings:
    +1,658
  14. Quicksilver7714

    Quicksilver7714 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,436
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +60
    Works on my Nexus.

    It's in the market.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
     
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2012
  15. pc747

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,363
    Likes Received:
    1,619
    Trophy Points:
    958
    Ratings:
    +1,658
    Yeah I know that is where i took the link from. I was emphasizing that if you can not find it in the market click the link from the browser and it will take you there regardless.
     
Search tags for this page
chrome browser for droid x2
,
chrome droid x
,
chrome droid x2
,
chrome for droid x
,
chrome for droid x2
,
google chrome droid charge
,
google chrome for droid bionic
,
google chrome for droid charge
,
google chrome for droid x
,

not sure if serious