Going to Europe for 2 weeks. What do I need?

82DMC12

Reaction score
Hey all,

I have a D1 and I'm up for an upgrade. I'm holding out for the Bionic but here's a question that might influence my decision.

I'm going on a vacation to the UK, France, and Italy in Oct/Nov. This is my first time leaving the US. What do I need to be able to text message and use GPS/google maps/internet while I am there? I probably won't make a phone call unless it's an emergency. Should I use Skype for that?

I don't want to come home to a $1000 bill from VZW. Do I need a different phone? Like a Global? Can I buy a temporary phone while I am there? Would I be better off going to AT&T for a new contract so I'm on GSM? Maybe I could get an Atrix.

I have no clue. What should I do?

Andy

takeshi

Silver Member
Reaction score
You need to sort out your priorities. If you need to text then you need a device that supports the bands required where you're traveling.

If you want to avoid an expensive bill when you return then you won't want to text or use data (e.g. Google Maps which requires data) while roaming internationally. For GPS nav, I'd suggest using an app that stores maps locally such as CoPilot or Navigon, etc.

I don't want to come home to a $1000 bill from VZW. Do I need a different phone? Like a Global? Can I buy a temporary phone while I am there? Would I be better off going to AT&T for a new contract so I'm on GSM? Maybe I could get an Atrix.
Neither will help with your bill. Again international roaming fees would still apply.

On the other hand, if you have an unlocked device (you don't need to sign up with a GSM carrier here in the US to get one) you can use a local SIM. They're typically much less expensive. If you need data then make sure you get data as well. Keep in mind that with a local SIM you'll have a local number (i.e. not your number).

Last edited:

Dwyndal

Reaction score