1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

going froyo need some help

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by gpigate, Jun 11, 2010.

  1. gpigate
    Offline

    gpigate New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Ok, so I am rooted and bugless beast v1.0, kernel 2.6.29-omap1-bekt-0.83-7x1000LVbekriebel@ubunt#1

    I want to go froyo and I am a bit confused.

    I have rom manager, set cpu and all of that but based on some of hte froyo threads I have read I just want to make sure I have it right.

    I want to install one of the 2 below but not sure as to what the difference is.
    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/android-roms/50690-rom-bugless-beast-froyo-v-01-nextheme.html

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/bugless/50333-rom-bugless-beast-v0-1-frf57-froyo-rc.html

    Do I need to "wipe" and if so what is that and how do I do it? I assume this is just the option when you tell it to kill your data/cache.

    Will I have to re activate the phone?

    Can I just put this zip on the phone, then go into rom manager and say install from card?

    Been a while since I did the root and installed BB etc. Just dont want to screw up my phone
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Moved thread to bugless for further assistance.
  3. gpigate
    Offline

    gpigate New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    thanks, sorry about the wrong location
  4. ninjabucket
    Offline

    ninjabucket New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Heres what I did (coming from 1.1 though).

    1. Renamed the frf57 zip to update.zip and put it on the root of the card
    2. Did a backup in rom manager just in case
    3. Rebooted into recovery from rom manager
    4. In recovery I did the "Wipe Cache" thing 3 times
    5. Ran Apply Update.zip
    6. Rebooted
    7. ????
    8. Profit
  5. tameone
    Offline

    tameone New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The version of BB FroYo in ROM manager is not up to date. There was a new release on 6/10 and ROM Manager still shows 6/9 so I would avoid it.

    This is what I did, and it works perfectly.

    Download this zip: http://bit.ly/dw50KL (direct link from BB thread)

    Open ROM Manager, select install from sdcard

    Navigate to the zip in your download directory, click it.

    select make backup and wipe data/cache (you will need to do this coming from BB 1.0)

    Let ROM manager do it's thing.

    You will have to re-activate.. if you don't want to reactivate I'll post directions how to get around that screen (you will have no service)

    Download flash 10.1 from this link MEGAUPLOAD - The leading online storage and file delivery service (it works flawlessly), install as normal by just clicking the apk
  6. gpigate
    Offline

    gpigate New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    thanks for the help. couple of more questions

    what do you mean by this
    "install as normal by just clicking the apk"

    will wireless tether still work?

    will I still be able to overclock or will that require something else?
  7. tameone
    Offline

    tameone New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    By that I mean, when you download the file (it's a .apk), it will show up in Browser -> downloads. Then just click the file and you should be prompted automatically to "install."

    This ROM comes with 800MHz kernel, so you will be OC'd to 800MHz without doing anything (no need for setCPU). You can then flash a different kernel over the top if you choose.

    I assume wireless tether still works.. haven't read enough, or tried it myself (I'm actually back to BB 1.1 after a brief stint with 2.2.. 2.2 worked flawlessly for me though so that wasn't the issue)
  8. disassemble
    Offline

    disassemble New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey

    i just did exactly this.. now its working.. new launcher thing... running kinda slow though... what else do i need to do to my droid?

    so i downloaded the flash .apk to my desktop now i move it to the main directory on my droid and install it how? =P
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2010
  9. gpigate
    Offline

    gpigate New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    well im in. using my wireless tether to post this from laptop. also tested flash, it works as well.

    dancedroiddancedroiddancedroiddancedroiddancedroiddancedroiddancedroiddancedroid


    bout to go donate, this is sweet.

    thanks for all of the help
  10. gpigate
    Offline

    gpigate New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina

    I had the same question.

    1) go into your settings for applications and allow non market applications to install.
    2) open your sd card folders via es file or some other file explorer you can get form the market. Just go find the apk and tap it, it will install