Going from Liberty GB to CM7

Discussion in 'Cyanogenmod - D2' started by theDL, Jul 17, 2011.

  1. theDL
    Offline

    theDL New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I'm currently running a nightly of Liberty Gingerbread (v0.7) on my D2, and I'd like to try CM7. Can I go straight from Liberty GB to CM7 since my kernel is updated for Gingerbread? Or do I have to SBF? I know that I will have to wipe the data and cache. Sorry if I got any of that wrong, I know almost nothing (read: noob) and have just been trying to read stuff to learn :p
    Thanks
  2. pressguy27
    Offline

    pressguy27 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    michigan
    You will have to sbf back to froyo to run cm because it uses the froyo kernel

    Sent from my Droid2 using HoneyCream CM7
  3. theDL
    Offline

    theDL New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    oh does it really? ok thanks
  4. TheSwaggeR
    Offline

    TheSwaggeR New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    He doesn't have to SBF back to Froyo. Let me get you the steps to do it without SBFing back to Froyo.
  5. TheSwaggeR
    Offline

    TheSwaggeR New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Here you go. Just follow instructions on this link: (see my cleaned up version of instructions below)

    http://www.mydroidworld.com/forums/d...metickone.html

    Gapps link:

    http://goo-inside.me/gapps/gapps-gb-20110613-signed.zip

    Let me clean the instructions up for you a bit....

    - Download the CM7 zip file
    - once done, change that CM7 zip file name to update.zip
    - delete update.zip if you have it on the root of your SD Card and put that new update.zip on there
    - download gapps zip and put on root of SD Card
    - go to mounts and storage
    - format system
    - format data
    - format cache
    - mount system
    - go back
    - go to apply update from zip
    - select the D2-CM7-test7.zip (the one that was renamed to update.zip)
    - install
    - go back and select install zip from sd card
    - select gapps zip
    - install
    - reboot

    Note: Do not reboot after you flash CM7. Stay in recovery and flash gapps zip right after it is done installing CM7.

    After you are all done with that, get your phone to settle down and apps restored from the Market. Reboot your phone one more time before the next step (possible radio error).

    Once back on... do the following...

    Download latest build from here (if you don't have ROM Manager Premium app)...

    CyanogenMod Mirror Network - Powered by TDRevolution

    Place latest build on root of SD Card or in a custom folder

    Make sure you have the Gapps zip still on root of SD Card or in a custom folder

    Hold Power button down, click Reboot, click Recovery.

    When you flash latest build this is all you have to do:

    - Go into Recovery
    - Wipe Cache Partition
    - Wipe Dalvik Cache
    - Flash CM7 Build 16 zip
    - Flash Gapps zip
    - Reboot

    Note: Once on CM7 for the first time, do not use Koush's Bootstrap anymore. Just hold the Power button down, click Reboot, click Recovery to get into Recovery to flash nightlies.
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2011
  6. theDL
    Offline

    theDL New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    wow thanks so much. I'll do that and let you know how it goes. By the way, are the nightlies that much better than the stable version?
  7. UrbanBounca
    Online

    UrbanBounca Rescue Squad Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,229
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Virginia
    There is currently no stable version for the D2, but the nightlies have been stable for me.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  8. theDL
    Offline

    theDL New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Got it up and running and loving it :) thank you everyone for your help. special thanks to TheSwagger
  9. TheSwaggeR
    Offline

    TheSwaggeR New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No problem!
  10. Mike Lazaga
    Offline

    Mike Lazaga New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am currently running Liberty GB v.09 and thinking about trying CM7. I have downloaded the CM7 file and gapps file. Can I use Astro file manager to rename CM7 file ? and how do I replace the current update.zip with the new one. Sorry for all the questions. Been on liberty so long finally want to try something new. Thanks


    Nevermind. I think I got it. Thanks for the instructions.
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2011
  11. havens1515
    Offline

    havens1515 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    It doesn't actually have to be called "update.zip". You can select "Choose zip from SD Card" and choose a zip with any name, so renaming is unnecessary.
  12. Mike Lazaga
    Offline

    Mike Lazaga New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you for your reply.
  13. TheSwaggeR
    Offline

    TheSwaggeR New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The source of info, that I obtained my instructions from, clearly recommended doing it the "update.zip" way the first time flashing to CM7 from another ROM. After that, it's no longer required.

    CM7... it's what James Bond never had.
  14. ILikeWaffles
    Offline

    ILikeWaffles New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Western Mass
    When loading this I got an error something like this...

    blah blah blah
    Installing RADIO
    error (Status 7)
    Installation aborted.

    I tried it the update.zip way and install from sd card way. Was getting that error no matter what. So I stayed in CMR the whole time thinking of what to do. Then I flashed the monster GB leak and same thing happened.

    I then went back to flashing the CM7 file and still got the error. So I just rebooted and everything seems fine. Radio works fine. Any ideas?
  15. havens1515
    Offline

    havens1515 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    I have never named my zip file "update.zip" when installing ANY ROM, and I have never had any problems.
  16. havens1515
    Offline

    havens1515 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    I've seen other people have this error too, and from what I can tell it doesn't really cause any issues. If you see that you have problems with phone calls or any of the other wireless radios, you may want to wipe and install again though.
  17. droid2drummer
    Offline

    droid2drummer New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ga...
    I got the error and just installed google apps and rebooted and all was fine. I think that's what's getting some people confused. I was waiting for it because I read people stating it would happen.. but just act like it said install complete and go...

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  18. nhugh406
    Offline

    nhugh406 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have looked and looked and looked. just a basic/simple question (and possibly a stupid one), will this method work on the droid x as well?
  19. havens1515
    Offline

    havens1515 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    You may want to go to the Droid X forums and ask there. Personally, I would advise against these all-in-one zips anyways. I've seen A LOT of people having problems after using them. Simplest way to KNOW you won't have problems:

    1) sbf
    2) re-root
    3) re-bootstrap
    4) wipe data, wipe cache, wipe dalvik cache
    5) install latest nightly
  20. nhugh406
    Offline

    nhugh406 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thank you for the link and the advice. guess i'll be trying CM soon! dancedroid
Search tags for this page

cm7 for droid x status 7

,

liberty vs cyanogen droid 2