Godmode??

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by aDroidman, Jan 16, 2011.

  1. ClumsyNinja21

    ClumsyNinja21 Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +0
    Probably why pete left it out of this one.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  2. HarvesterX™

    HarvesterX™ Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Ratings:
    +9
    The godmode script is different than just "sys -rw"...I believe ths is pretty much what the old godmode script used to do.

    Code:
    #!/system/bin/sh
    # godmode -Temporarily Allows Editing Of Any File
    mount -o rw,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    chmod 777 /system/build.prop
    chmod 777 /system/app
    chmod 777 /data
    chmod 777 /data/app
    chmod 777 /data/app-private
    chmod 777 /data/dalvik-cache
    chmod 777 /data/data
    
    Take note that regardless of how the above is called (either as a script or entered line by line from within the terminal), "su" must come first.

    Root Explorer is very convienent but if using Astro, all you need to do is create a new file and paste the above into it. Save it as "godmode" and stick it on the root of your sdcard. Then

    Code:
    su
    sys -rw
    cp /sdcard/godmode /system/xbin
    chmod 777 /system/xbin/godmode
    sys -ro
    
    Then to run it...
    Code:
    su
    godmode
    
    If you can't already tell from the godmode script by just looking at it, it basically does exactly as the name implies and at the same time leaves your phone wide open and vulnerable to malicious software or poorly written software.

    In fact this is why this script isn't used that much anymore. RootExplorer or the command line are just as easy and ten folds safer. If you tell me the apps you want to remove I can show you how to remove them using the command line and save you some money.
     
    #14 HarvesterX™, Jan 16, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2011
  3. aDroidman

    aDroidman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok I got it to work thanks guys :) only problem is it says the browser app is no longer installed.....I didnt even touch that apk and when I go into ROM toolkit-Applications and then system applications the browser is marked........how do I unmark it?

    EDIT: when I reboot its still marked and when I click it to un-mark it, it only keeps it uninstalled......
     
    #15 aDroidman, Jan 16, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2011
  4. kodiak799

    kodiak799 Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    6,148
    Likes Received:
    828
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Ratings:
    +1,003
    I just use the script earlier to mount read/write from ADB. Then I do whatever I need, which pretty much is just deleting a few system apps (launcher, livewallpaper, etc..) after flashing a rom.
     
  5. deputc26

    deputc26 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    It is annoying that the "mount system" checkbox does not work, been playing around with this for a while myself.
     
  6. foxdog

    foxdog Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Why not just use titanium backup?
     
Search tags for this page

android godmode