[GLOBAL] RAZR HD and RAZR i Now Supported in Moto's Bootloader Unlock Program

Discussion in 'Android News' started by cereal killer, Oct 5, 2012.

  1. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,138
    Likes Received:
    835
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +840
    Current Phone Model:
    Nokia Lumia Icon
    [​IMG]


    Motorola announced today that it has added the global versions of the DROID RAZR HD and the RAZR i to its list of devices that are supported in its bootloader unlock program. This still doesn't help folks in the US who will still have to purchase developer editions to enjoy the freedom of an unlocked bootloader, but it just goes to show the US carriers unwillingness to allow unlocked subsidized phones on their network.

    Via: Android Community
  2. djspy
    Offline

    djspy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    N. California
    Ratings:
    +14
    Do the developer editions still come preloaded with all the bloat ware? If I'm gonna shell out to buy a phone at full retail I'll make it the developer edition if it means a more stock experience.
  3. macpro88
    Offline

    macpro88 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +83
    I assume so yes, its essentially the same phone with an unlocked bootloader. It would not make sense on their end to provide a different set of software rules on a dev edition. Not like it matters anyways, the phone is unlocked, what more could you want lol
  4. tgyberg
    Offline

    tgyberg Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,838
    Likes Received:
    245
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +245
    Current Phone Model:
    GNote2
    Yea, just root it and nuke the bloat!
  5. macpro88
    Offline

    macpro88 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +83
    Yes! However, unlocked bootloader does not always mean rootable... still need to find an exploit past the system partition if im not mistaken.
  6. Xplorer4x4
    Offline

    Xplorer4x4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Evansville,IN
    Ratings:
    +4
    I was in VZW playing with the Droid Razr and Razr Maxx and they had the sim card slot just like the D2G does. I am a bit confused by what you mean by "Global Versions" because if I but it from VZW I would think this would be a global phone with it's sim card slot. Do you mean the International versions?
  7. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,115
    Likes Received:
    190
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +194
    That's not a gsm sim slot. Thats the LTE sim card slot you are seeing.

    I'm not saying it was aliens...bit it was aliens.
  8. Xplorer4x4
    Offline

    Xplorer4x4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Evansville,IN
    Ratings:
    +4
    Thanks for the explanation jstafford. That leads me to a new question..ince when does LTE require a sim? or is this required for LTE over GSM?
  9. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,115
    Likes Received:
    190
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +194
    LTE has always required a sim card. LTE is 4G GSM is 3G two different things. The Razrs have 2 radios, LTE and CDMA. If they were global they'd need a GSM radio as well and there's no room for 3 radios.

    I'm not saying it was aliens...bit it was aliens.
  10. Xplorer4x4
    Offline

    Xplorer4x4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Evansville,IN
    Ratings:
    +4
    Guess I need to read up on LTE some more. :p thanks again for the info.
  11. liftedplane
    Offline

    liftedplane Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    126
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Washington State
    Ratings:
    +129
    I think I added the big red text that was missing from that.

    see what I did there?
  12. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,115
    Likes Received:
    190
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +194
    Should have said they wont allow unlocked Motorola devices. Every other manufacturer has unlocked/able devices on VZW.

    I'm not saying it was aliens...bit it was aliens.
  13. grgguy
    Offline

    grgguy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    SoCal
    Ratings:
    +2
    Why is that? What is it about Moto devices they are scared of ?
Search tags for this page
motorola razr hd unlock sim slot
,
razr hd sim unlock
,

razr i

,
unlock droid razr hd international sim