GLD's Method for a Clean Install and Restore Using Titanium Backup

Discussion in 'Project Elite' started by GirLuvsDroid, Jan 5, 2011.

  1. JayR_

    JayR_ Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,108
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +4
    if you get this in time...try not loading your data for gtalk when you reinstall...try starting new data hope you get it working :)
     
  2. bigjonmoo73

    bigjonmoo73 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks a lot for this! I didn't realize that there were certain things you wanna make sure you don't restore when setting up a new ROM. Great walk through!
     
  3. Firewing

    Firewing Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    in northern cali, where the desert and the mountai
    Ratings:
    +0
    Got it working YAY!!!! I must have not loaded something when I was loading system data from tibu during the steps before I loaded all my apps and backed up... again thanks for the speedy replies, that is why I love it in this section :)
    Thanks
    Cara
     
  4. mkraffert

    mkraffert Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bad SD Card?

    I have a problem. I've never had this issue before, and I'm posting this here because I was following GLD's steps for a clean tibu restore when the problem arose. I'm certain it's not a problem with her instructions, but I didn't know where else to post this so I put it here. Mods, feel free to move this if there's a better place for it.

    Here's what's happening. I have Rom Manager 3.0.0.7, Clockwork 2.5.0.1, and the latest paid Titanium Backup. I downloaded PE4.2.zip and put it in my /dropbox directory on my sd card. I backed up my apps with TB, nandroid backed up my phone, and (thankfully) backed up my sd card to my laptop.

    I booted into recovery, and did all the format and reset steps GLD outlined. I've done these steps lots of times before, but I've never followed the TB restore steps, so I was going to try that. After I wiped and formatted, I chose install zip from sdcard. Clockwork could only find a /clockwork directory on the sd card.

    I tried removing the sd card and restoring the backup. Put the card back in, booted to recovery and clockwork could still only find the clockwork directory. No nandroid backups or anything. Also, phone wouldn't boot since it was totally wiped of any OS. I flashed an sbf file, flashed the SPRecovery sbf and re-rooted. The phone booted up fine. Root Explorer was able to see all my files. Installed Rom Manager, flash clockwork and tried again. Same results.

    Re-sbf'ed and rooted the phone, restored the sd card backup (SO glad I backed it up!) and installed PE4.2.zip as an update.zip using SPRecovery. Phone booted fine and installed PE. When the phone boots now, instead of just mounting the sd card, it goes into a "Checking for Errors" cycle. I reinstalled Rom Manager and Clockwork and tried to flash the Intense theme through RM and CW. Phone rebooted into recovery and bombed. Couldn't find the file. SD card is blank. Restored the sd card backup, rebooted, flashed SPRecovery, and installed the theme as an update.zip. No problem, except it still does the "Checking for Errors" thing.

    So my question is this, is my sd card shot, or is this a Rom Manager, Clockwork issue? SPRecovery doesn't screw up my sd card, but clockwork does. I've been using Rom Manager / Clockwork for months with no problems.

    UPDATE: I went to Radio Shack and bought a new sd card and the problems seems to be gone. On a side note, they are having a sale and I got a Class 4 16GB SanDisk card for $34.99. Their regular price on it is $119.99. Sale ends today 1/22. Anyone looking for an sd card might want to check it out.
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2011
  5. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,551
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Wilmington, DE
    Ratings:
    +1
    Mkraffert, I'm glad you went and bought a new SD card, because that's what I was going to advise you to do. I think your old card corrupted, but I don't believe it had anything to do with ROM Manager or ClockworkMod Recovery -- as you note, you've used both numerous times without issue, as have I and many others. I think it was just an unfortunate coincidence of timing. SPRecovery may have allowed you to restore, but afterward, it was clear there were SD card errors.

    Anyway, I'm glad you got it worked out.
     
  6. mkraffert

    mkraffert Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for getting back to me. It seems it's all for the better. The Class 4 card "seems" to be much faster than the old Class 2 card. When the phone boots, the sd card mounts SIGNIFICANTLY faster. And it was cheaper than I thought I would pay for a regular Class 2 card.
     
  7. martytoo

    martytoo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Should this method work with any ROM?
     
  8. mxnut

    mxnut Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would think it would work with any Froyo ROM. Not sure about Liquid's new GB one. I would think some of the data might be flaky crossing over. But then again, I'm no expert.
     
  9. martytoo

    martytoo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That is an interesting remark. I had trouble with that exact ROM yesterday. The market was flaky for me after using the method with Titanium Backup.
     
  10. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    That is my sense.

    I've used Titanium for over a year on 2.0.1 roms through the current releases.

    Very solid tool. I believe that the tool will copy and restore the system apps and other apps no matter what rom one has. Just my opinion due to my past experiences with my Droid.
     
  11. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,551
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Wilmington, DE
    Ratings:
    +1
    I answered this question in this post http://www.droidforums.net/forum/ac...estore-using-titanium-backup.html#post1182220, although I admit that was prior to the Gingerbread ROMs coming out. I understand from some reading that restoring any system apps/data from TiBu on Gingerbread causes issues and that TiBu doesn't seem to restore all user apps, either, on Gingerbread. I haven't yet verified this for myself, though.
     
  12. drice72

    drice72 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have messed up something. I installed clockwork mod. I did the titanium back up then did the ROM back up through the clockwork rom manager. Now I can't boot into recovery. No mater which way I try. Power off then hold X and power, power off then volume-up and power, not from the menu in clockwork, not from the menu in PE. What do I need to check?
     
Search tags for this page

android clean install

,
clean android then restore
,

clean restore titanium backup

,

how to backup stock rom using titanium backup

,
install titanium backup in recovery
,

is clockworkmod recovery better than titanium restore?

,

problems restoring google from titanium pro backup

,

titanium backup install method

,
titanium recover method
,

you received this email because you are a member of the liquid sky beta testing community