GLD's Method for a Clean Install and Restore Using Titanium Backup

Discussion in 'Project Elite' started by GirLuvsDroid, Jan 5, 2011.

  1. LT*

    LT* Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is a great resource, I've used it myself more than once with no issues.

    Thank you.
     
  2. AugmentedFourth

    AugmentedFourth New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sweet! That makes things super easy...I assume it'll find my premium key on its own. Either way, I guess I'll find out in a few minutes.
     
  3. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,551
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Wilmington, DE
    Ratings:
    +1
    It should find it -- it's always found mine.
     
  4. AugmentedFourth

    AugmentedFourth New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Any specific reason for not just doing an install and wipe cache + data directly from the ROM Manager UI instead of manually in clockwork?
     
  5. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,551
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Wilmington, DE
    Ratings:
    +1
    You kind of answered your own question -- if you do it from ROM Manager, you're only wiping data and cache -- you miss system, boot and Dalvik cache.
     
  6. Riley

    Riley Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    very cool guide, I have one question too. As loyal as I am to PE ROM's I do like to test and try other ROM's, and a bunch do not have Tibu included...if I open the market to install it, I have to sign in my Google account and it wants to start auto loading all my apps and data from the market via Google. Is there a work around for this, or do we need to let Google restore then go into Tibu and restore data?
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2011
  7. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,551
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Wilmington, DE
    Ratings:
    +1
    My experience has been that, once I use the 4-corner method to skip Google sign-in, if I then sign in to Google, my apps don't start auto-restoring. So, you do the 4-corner (square) pattern to skip sign-in, then go to Settings>Accounts & sync and do your sign-in, then go to the Market and download Titanium Backup.

    That's one way to do it. The other way is to open the zip archive for the ROM file (before you install it) and add the Titanium Backup apk to /system/app within the ROM file (don't extract/unzip it--just use a program like 7zip to open the archive), then it's there for you in your app tray when you install. That's what I always do for testing ROMs that don't include it already.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2011
  8. Riley

    Riley Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Once again....your brillant! Thanks! :)
     
  9. listenman20

    listenman20 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Another way to be sure to have TiBu is to use the "create update.zip" feature within TiBu. It creates a flashable zip file so once you've flashed a ROM you want to try out you can flash it too and it will put it right there for ya.
     
  10. jbrock98

    jbrock98 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Man thanks 4 this thread I've always wanted 2 know how to do a complete restore w/o waiting on market sync & typing in all my passwords yada yada.........yada

    Sent from my ELITE Droid
     
  11. adsfa34

    adsfa34 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for this GLD :) I've followed something similar to this for some time and it's helped prevent all kinds of issues, especially related to switching kernels in addition to the ROM
     
  12. Firewing

    Firewing Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    in northern cali, where the desert and the mountai
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok, I used this method and it solved my issue with the f/c's on android system, but now I have a new issue...I can't sign into gtalk, it says I need to enable chat for this google app, but I have no clue how to do that, I thought it would sync up with my gmail... any help is greatly appreciated :)
    Thanks
    Cara
     
Search tags for this page

android clean install

,
clean android then restore
,

clean restore titanium backup

,

how to backup stock rom using titanium backup

,
install titanium backup in recovery
,

is clockworkmod recovery better than titanium restore?

,

problems restoring google from titanium pro backup

,

titanium backup install method

,
titanium recover method
,

you received this email because you are a member of the liquid sky beta testing community