1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

gingerbreadxdroid2

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2' started by dnyor93, Nov 2, 2010.

  1. dnyor93
    Offline

    dnyor93 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delaware
    Will/is the Android version Gingerbread be compatible with the Droid 2?
  2. markml0528
    Offline

    markml0528 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    Yes, the Droid 2 will be getting Gingerbread. Google has made a minimum hardware requirement for a phone to be qualified to have Gingerbread. All high end phones will be getting it. The phone needs to have 512mb RAM, 1ghz processor, and i think at least an 850x480 screen? There are probably a few more requirements, I can't remember them all.
  3. dnyor93
    Offline

    dnyor93 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delaware
    Well than, thank Google and thank you xD

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  4. markml0528
    Offline

    markml0528 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
  5. piffey
    Offline

    piffey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Vermillion, SD
    If that's the minimum then what do they plan on coming out with? I though 1.4+ghz ARM processors from qualcomm and other mobile folks weren't due out until Q2 2011.
  6. markml0528
    Offline

    markml0528 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    I'm surprised there hasn't been a phone that's "officially" broken the 1ghz barrier. Officially as in without overclocking the device. I remember reading articles about how motorola said it planned to release a 2ghz processor phone by the end of the year. I don't think it's going to happen.
  7. piffey
    Offline

    piffey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Vermillion, SD
    I think I remember Qualcomm's ARM roadmap showing a 2ghz by Q4 next year, but I can't remember where I saw that. Personally, I'm still blown away with 1ghz in my pocket. Can't imagine what 2ghz or even a dual core mobile processor might make mobile computing. We'll see what happens I guess.
  8. wlrottge
    Offline

    wlrottge New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Droid Pro, 1.2GHz
  9. markml0528
    Offline

    markml0528 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    I don't think the Droid pro has been officially confirmed as having a 1.2 ghz processor.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  10. mtavenger55
    Offline

    mtavenger55 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Anyone no what OS the Droid 2 Global wll be released with?
  11. markml0528
    Offline

    markml0528 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States


    Android 2.2 Froyo
  12. mtavenger55
    Offline

    mtavenger55 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Thanks! I can't wait to get my hands on it next weekdancedroid
  13. Numbskill
    Offline

    Numbskill New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    REDLANDS CALIFORNIA
    The D2 Global definitely has 1.2 ghz

    D PRO- 1 ghz
  14. markml0528
    Offline

    markml0528 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    I've done a google search. I found several websites claiming that they have found a leaked spec sheet for the Droid 2 Global. Verizon has not officially confirmed it. I'm curious though, if they've simply overclocked the processor from the original D2, or if it's something entirely new.
  15. markml0528
    Offline

    markml0528 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    Then why aren't the Droid X and the milestone 2 clocked at 1.2GHz if they're in fact using the same exact processor for the Droid 2 global?
  16. Tanknspank
    Offline

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Google came out right after those articles were posted saying that they were just not true. Now, this is not to say that the original droid or low end phones will get gingerbread, but nowhere did google officially say that there was going to be a spec requirement.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  17. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    I thought the x had the 3630?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  18. Numbskill
    Offline

    Numbskill New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    REDLANDS CALIFORNIA
    Yeah, you are right.

    I take back what I've said, because I am confused.

    And now i read that the global is the same CPu as the D2 just overclocked.

    sorry for the misinformation
  19. markml0528
    Offline

    markml0528 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    I was pretty sure the Droid X had a 3630
  20. deborah3756
    Offline

    deborah3756 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Earth
    Excuse me, I'm not tech saavy and sorry if this has been asked already but what will be the benefits of gingerbread vs froyo? Will the differences be that noticeable to us non-techies?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App