Gingerbread?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by MrHatchi87, Feb 1, 2011.

  1. MrHatchi87
    Offline

    MrHatchi87 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    Kinda new to the android market... just wondering if my d2g is up to date plz assist

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  2. Tillyswilly
    Offline

    Tillyswilly New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bham
    2.3.2 is the latest update for the d2 gingerbread won't b out for a little while
  3. NiceGuysFinishLast
    Offline

    NiceGuysFinishLast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What? No, you don't have Gingerbread. No, you can't have Gingerbread. In a few months, maybe we'll get a release. Go to settings -> about phone... what system version does it show? It should say Android Version 2.2 and System Version 2.4.3330
  4. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Welcome to the forums!!

    We don't know the timetable for Gingerbread to be pushed to particular phones.

    Enjoy your stay here!!
  5. MrHatchi87
    Offline

    MrHatchi87 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    Yup that's what it says. So I know its up to date. Im also looking to free up some speed on it. Any suggestions? Im somewhat computer literate so I can understand most things. Im running stock with applanet and little to no apps

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  6. Tillyswilly
    Offline

    Tillyswilly New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bham
    Well you could root then freeze some bloatware and install fission on it thats what most people so with the d2g that will make it much quicker
  7. MrHatchi87
    Offline

    MrHatchi87 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    Also on a side note, I would like to know what kind of case I should get. I don't do leather... I would like a rubber or silicone kind of thing. Ideas?

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  8. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    The following is an article written about the evils of task killers. I put it here not for that but because it will give a good glance at how Android works and is different from Blackberry, Palm, etc. Enjoy!!

    Task Killers Per Lifehacker:

    Android Task Killers Explained: What They Do and Why You Shouldn't Use Them
    How Android Manages Processes

    In Android, processes and Applications are two different things. An app can stay "running" in the background without any processes eating up your phone's resources. Android keeps the app in its memory so it launches more quickly and returns to its prior state. When your phone runs out of memory, Android will automatically start killing tasks on its own, starting with ones that you haven't used in awhile.
    The problem is that Android uses RAM differently than, say, Windows. On Android, having your RAM nearly full is a good thing. It means that when you relaunch an app you've previously opened, the app launches quickly and returns to its previous state. So while Android actually uses RAM efficiently, most users see that their RAM is full and assume that's what's slowing down their phone. In reality, your CPU—which is only used by apps that are actually active—is almost always the bottleneck.

    Why Task Killers Are (Usually) Bad News


    Apps like Advanced Task Killer, the most popular task killer in the Market, act on the incorrect assumption that freeing up memory on an Android device is a good thing. When launched, it presents you with a list of "running" apps and the option to kill as many as you want. You can also hit the Menu button to access a more detailed "Services" view, that lists exactly which parts of each application are "running", how much memory they take up, and how much free memory is available on your phone. This set-up implies that the goal of killing these apps is to free up memory. Nowhere on the list does it mention the number of CPU cycles each app is consuming, only the memory you'll free by killing it. As we've learned, full memory is not a bad thing—we want to watch out for the CPU, the resource that actually slows down your phone and drains your battery life.
    Thus, killing all but the essential apps (or telling Android to kill apps more aggressively with the "autokill" feature) is generally unnecessary. Furthermore, it's actually possible that this will worsen your phone's performance and battery life. Whether you're manually killing apps all the time or telling the task killer to aggressively remove apps from your memory, you're actually using CPU cycles when you otherwise wouldn't—killing apps that aren't doing anything in the first place.
    In fact, some of the processes related to those apps will actually start right back up, further draining your CPU. If they don't, killing those processes can cause other sorts of problems—alarms don't go off, you don't receive text messages, or other related apps may force close without warning. All in all, you're usually better off letting your phone work as intended—especially if you're more of a casual user. In these instances, a task killer causes more problems than it solves.
    What You Should Do Instead

    That said, not all apps are created equal. Many of you have used task killers in the past and actually found that after freeing up memory, your phone works a bit better. It's more likely that this is because you've killed a bad app—one that was poorly coded, and (for example) keeps trying to connect to the internet even when it shouldn't. Any performance increase you experience is more likely because you killed the right app, not because you freed up loads of memory (or, in many cases, it's just placebo). Instead of killing all those apps, find out which ones are actually causing the problems. If you really know what you're doing, you may benefit from using a task killer to stop the one or two inefficient-but-loved apps on your phone.
    Note, however, that this is still a contested notion. A lot of developers (including ROM builder extraordinaire, Cyanogen) will not even look at your bug reports if you're using a task killer. In this humble blogger's opinion, your best bet is to stay away from regular task killer usage entirely. If you absolutely have to have that one battery-killing app on your phone, though, kill away—just be aware that when you experience a recurring Android bug later on, the task killer may be at fault. Of course, you can just stop using it to determine whether that is or isn't the case.
  9. MrHatchi87
    Offline

    MrHatchi87 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    Im installing titanium and z4 now. :) what is some good bloatware to freeze

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  10. tebower
    Offline

    tebower New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  11. NiceGuysFinishLast
    Offline

    NiceGuysFinishLast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You may or may not find the tips in this thread useful, but I posted a list of all the apps that I have frozen that have caused me no problems.

    Also, for a case, about the only good onse on the market right now are the Seidio Innocase, or the Seidio Innocase Active. I hate to sound like a Seidio rep, but I really have tried pretty much all the cases for this phone.

    The hard plastic ones from Verizon are very cheap, very brittle, and very prone to scratching your phone. Oh, and they don't fit right, either.

    The soft gel ones from Verizon are better, but they still didn't fit quite right, and they offer pretty much no impact protection, which is WHY I want a case.

    The Otterbox was recently released, but almost every review I've read of it has been negative. Build quality is lacking, fit and finish are poor, and there was even a post on this forum this morning about one breaking after a 2ft fall. The advantage that the Otterbox offers over any of the other brands is that it covers all the buttons AND there are rubber plugs for the charging/headphone ports.

    The Body Glove is pretty much the king of protection. It's got soft touch felt on the inside, a rigid plastic frame, then rubber on the outside. I've had them on various other phones, and they're pretty much indestructible. The downside is that they're very bulky, and some people find that rubber surface is hard to slide in/out of pockets. I never had that problem, but I also don't wear jeans that are tight enough to show my genitals haha.

    The Seidio Innocase is a thin plastic case with soft touch rubber on the outside. The rubber doesn't show marks, doesn't stick in your pocket, but DOES feel good/grippy in your hand. I've had mine on my phone for about 2 months, and it looks perfect. I work construction, so I'm constantly getting stuff on it, scuffing it on things, dropping it, etc. The only issue I have is that 2 days ago, I snapped off one of the mounting tabs. But it wasn't the case's fault. I wasn't paying attention when I took it off, and bent it far past a reasonable angle. It's ok, though, I was planning on buying an Innocase Active next week anyway. Also, the case stays on just fine with the missing tab, it still doesn't wiggle or come off.

    Finally, the Innocase Active is (according to reviews, I haven't touched one yet) essentially the same as the Innocase, but slightly thicker, with a rigid skeleton, to improve protection. It also has rubber covers over the power, volume, and camera buttons, but not over the charger/headphone ports. I've been so happy with my Innocase that I'm ordering one of these.

    Sidenotes: To use an extended battery with most cases, you have to leave the battery door off. Some cases fit in the car dock, most don't. If that's a factor, make sure you know before you buy. Pretty much every case I listed can be found on amazon or ebay for cheaper than MSRP, so google around before you buy a case. I paid like $21 for my Innocase shipped to my door from ebay.
  12. MrHatchi87
    Offline

    MrHatchi87 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    I was hoping to get titanium pro to work so I could freeze apps and junk but o keep getting FC all the time. So I will have to wait for an update :( sad. No point in using Z4root if I can't freeze bloatware

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  13. NiceGuysFinishLast
    Offline

    NiceGuysFinishLast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Why won't titanium work for you? Also, there's still tons of other things you can do once you're rooted.
  14. kptphalkon
    Offline

    kptphalkon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Look up the bloatware removal script for a basic anti-bloat countermeasure, it should be in the stickies section of the D2G forum. Be sure that you understand how to work clockworkrecovery (pretty easy actually) and that you download the .zip into the correct directory.

    Anyways the thread tells you how to do it all, but long story short you'll need to undo it if/when you get TB working.

    Sent from the F-Zero cockpit on my D2G
  15. MrHatchi87
    Offline

    MrHatchi87 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    Im using the blackmarket... so it was bound to fail

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  16. MrHatchi87
    Offline

    MrHatchi87 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    Should I run fission on my d2g? If so... HELP

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  17. kptphalkon
    Offline

    kptphalkon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i dont have a computer to flash the rom, and either way since it doesnt replace the kernel or bootloader i do not want to flash over.

    The only thing that pisses me off about the lockdown is it makes using custom frequencies and vsels so much harder :/

    Sent from the F-Zero cockpit on my D2G
  18. MrHatchi87
    Offline

    MrHatchi87 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    BUMP dancedroid
    i decided to stick with the standard ROM, but i did freeze a lot of the crap, so no more bloatware. i love how much faster its running. thanks for that freeze list, i didn't to all of them cause i still use some of them, but most of it i followed to the letter :) thanks for all the help.