Gingerbread problems on Droid X

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by calguy19, Jul 11, 2011.

  1. calguy19

    calguy19 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm putting a list together summarizing the problems I've seen so far with Gingerbread 2.3.3 on the Droid X. Feel free to add to the list. Maybe someone around here knows someone at google who gives a crap and might be able to get them to fix the OS.

    1. Compass API doesn't work. I'm told it's API #9. Google Maps, Mobile Observatory, SkEyE and other apps that point to the sky simply don't work. Other apps using the compass don't work reliably or don't work at all (north is south, east is west).

    2. Power off phone and it turns back on (around 30 seconds later). I'm told using Pwr Off can trigger a crash which superceds the normal power off sequence. The phone crashes, goes thru its normal crash recovery, and turns back on. Could be embarrassing in some situations.

    3. Disappearing shortcuts. Shortcuts on home screens or in folders can disappear. Apparently apps on SD card have the problem. Mounting phone (SD card) on computer with USB, unmounting, then rebooting the phone triggers the problem, and you have to restore all those shortcuts. Or move all those apps to the phone memory.

    4. Contacts doesn't work as well as Froyo. Doesn't support birthdays and anniversaries. Display/fonts for contact info is less readable than with Froyo. A step back.

    5. Phone gets confused. Home screen(s) suddenly go empty for a while. Wait around a minute or two, and it recovers.

    6. Lights for the 4 buttons at the bottom of the phone have a mind of their own. Sometimes they come on, sometimes they don't. In low level lighting it can get confusing - you have to remember which button is which. Rebooting the phone makes them work again, for a while.
     
  2. kevinkar

    kevinkar Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    1) Yes, I see this too but have not calibrated the compass since receiving GB. I will try it outside later and see what happens.

    2) That has happened to me twice. Turn the thing off and it magically turns on less than a minute later. I was wondering where the ghost was that turned it back on. Not sure what you mean about "Pwr Off ..... normal power off sequence" though. I have always just held the power button down until I get the list of options and then select power off. Which one is that?

    3) That happens on all computers I've ever used. Some icon caching mechanism that gets corrupted and Android appears to be no different. I don't have any apps on the SD card yet as I still have a ton of space in memory but I do see this from time to time.

    4) Agreed. No solution as far as I know.

    5) Check to see if the phone is near a strong magnet and move away. That might be the issue.

    6) I have an Otter Box rubber "condom" on my phone and it hides the 4 buttons. I never see them light up anymore!
     
  3. calguy19

    calguy19 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    It will light up. Sometimes. And only when the OS decides to.

    These are all Operating System bugs that google needs to fix. When you pay around $200 for a "phone" and also get locked in to a 2 year contract at 90 bucks per month, you deserve to have a device that works properly and does what it's supposed to do. Whether google will do that depends on how important we are to them in comparison to their "other" projects.
     
  4. crundle

    crundle New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Screen Graying Out

    What about the fact that my screen has a grayish line at the very bottom covering the dock that comes and goes? Is this an OS problem?
     
  5. pool_shark

    pool_shark Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    I don't experience 1, 2, 3, or 5.
     
  6. kevinkar

    kevinkar Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think you are referring to the goofy "curtain" that slides up which seems to indicate you've scrolled down the screen as far as it can go and it can't go no more? That only appears if I scroll down and try to scroll more. Just a transparent effect that serves no purpose only to be different from what it was before (no transparent effect).

    If that's what you are referring to then that's not an OS problem. It's a new feature! Albeit a useless stupid one.
     
  7. brad92

    brad92 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,496
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Ratings:
    +17
    I haven't had any of those issues except for #6, but I use adjbrightness to lock the button lights off

    SkyNet Liberty AOSP
     
  8. roady

    roady New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got number 2.. I thought I was going crazy the first few times.
     
  9. wantit

    wantit Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    I also get the magical power on, happened 4 or 5 times now. this is the only issue I have since gb update, so i'm not gonna cry too loud!
     
  10. chiruscan

    chiruscan Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Glad I stayed on Froyo

    :D:D:Ddancedroid:icon_ banana:dancedroid
     
  11. brad92

    brad92 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,496
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Ratings:
    +17
    Question: how many of y'all have wiped data since you got the GB OTA?

    Apex 2.0 Revolution
     
  12. pool_shark

    pool_shark Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    I did. Prior to doing a factory reset I had reboots every few minutes.