1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Gingerbread problem

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by Draken, Mar 28, 2011.

  1. Draken
    Offline

    Draken New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well for some reason my sync icon isnt going away? It has been on it for over night and i tried rebooting multiple times but its still there... Any suggestions?
  2. Spartans_08
    Offline

    Spartans_08 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Same thing happened to me, you need to wipe all data/cache....when powering up your phone hold down power and home until you see a triangle then hold volume u p and down and you will see the recovery screen...just wipe then reboot...hope this helps, worked for me

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  3. Draken
    Offline

    Draken New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ill try that now thanks !
  4. Spartans_08
    Offline

    Spartans_08 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    No prob

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  5. wrightperspective
    Offline

    wrightperspective New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ATL
    I did a factory reset on my phone but backed up all my apps using Astro File Manager. The nice thing was that it automatically started downloading all my apps without using Astro. If that is an addition to GB, then Gingerbread is tasting even sweeter.
  6. turdbogls
    Offline

    turdbogls New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    O-Town FL
    no this is something that has been done from at least Froyo. as long as the information from those downloaded app are still seen by the market, it will download them for you. not sure how it does this, but i know after wiping data when flashing ROMs and such, it always automatically downloaded my app for me. however, it doesn't DL them on another device, so i am assuming there is something on the SD card telling the market what apps you had downloaded before you wiped.

    GB is sweet tho :)
  7. Spartans_08
    Offline

    Spartans_08 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Actually when I went from og DROID to the X all my apps automatically downloaded on my X...new sdcard and all, I think it has to do with your gmail account

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  8. BullDroid
    Offline

    BullDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same for me. Im backing up apps using Astro now just in case but looks like Im gonna have to factory reset to get it to go away! Its werid though because its not really syncing anything the damn icon just wont go away lol
  9. turdbogls
    Offline

    turdbogls New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    O-Town FL
    interesting, mine did NOT do this, nor did it sync all my app when i signed into my wifes rooted Nook Color....luck of the draw? :)
  10. Draken
    Offline

    Draken New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Haha ya its annoying isnt it haha. Having that icon there would think it wouldnt be to annoying but it bugs me ha
  11. lefthandedspatula
    Offline

    lefthandedspatula New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    I've had the same problem too. I went to Manage Applications and force stopped Contacts Sync. It made the icon go away for a bit but it came back :( What now?
  12. Draken
    Offline

    Draken New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Im going to wait for like a week and see if it goes away then if not do a factory reset
  13. BullDroid
    Offline

    BullDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just went ahead and did a reset. Fixed it no problem just sucks losing all the app data with no way to restore ie Titanium Backup. until they get this build rooted that is! :)
  14. Spartans_08
    Offline

    Spartans_08 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Who knows?! These things are touchy sometimes.....haha

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  15. Spartans_08
    Offline

    Spartans_08 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Just a question....has anyone turned their phone off and back on with this gb leak? I just did and it seemed like it took 20 minutes to respond normally after the reboot...looks like I wont be turning my phone off now unless its absolutely necessary!

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2011
  16. vinnie80
    Offline

    vinnie80 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Medford, MA
    Has anyone had any issues adding apps to the homescreens on the leak 2.3.3? I haven't figured out how to do it. I tried the normal long press, and then when I click add to home screen, it just goes back to my home screen and does nothing. Am I missing something?
  17. BullDroid
    Offline

    BullDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You talking about apps or widgets? I've done the beautiful widget super clock no problem and even changed one of the apps in the dock bar. maybe got a bad d/l? or if you didnt do a factory data wipe might have to reboot into recovery and do that.
  18. vinnie80
    Offline

    vinnie80 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Medford, MA
    Widgets are no problem, and neither is the dock.... I just can't place apps on the home screen. I did do a factory reset before installing.
  19. buckoman
    Offline

    buckoman New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same problem. Worked great at first but then stopped working. Have to go to Add>apps to put an icon on the home screen. Help?

    Thanks.
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2011