1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Gingerbread Performance

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Roms' started by rjp0615, Mar 29, 2011.

  1. rjp0615
    Offline

    rjp0615 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    I'm just wondering... what kind of performance are you all seeing with GB on the D2? I've noticed quite a bit of lag since coming from Liberty 1.5 even after wiping data. It's the same lag I had on stock blur before Liberty. I'm also noticing about 100MB of RAM more being taken up in the background.
  2. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    16,943
    Likes Received:
    824
    Trophy Points:
    113
    No lag at all, all smooth for me, but I also used titanium backup and foze some of the unnecessary blur services and widget that I know I dont use or care for.
  3. rjp0615
    Offline

    rjp0615 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    I used root uninstaller to remove some things... maybe I should freeze what I don't need too. Never had to do that with liberty though...
  4. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    16,943
    Likes Received:
    824
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ima big liberty fan and my dislike for blur is well known so for me to say this is nice it has to be. I said many times that if it was not for liberty I would have thrown my d2 out a window. But my d2 run as smooth and as cool as liberty and have similar battery life. I am all for new blur.
  5. rjp0615
    Offline

    rjp0615 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    Nice, I'm gonna try reflashing and see if anything improves.
  6. rjp0615
    Offline

    rjp0615 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    Could launcherpro be the problem?
  7. pedwards3x
    Offline

    pedwards3x Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    Same experience here. I have droid overclock running at 1.35 and this phone is amazing. Quadrant scores in the 2000 range and im loving the new blur. I ditched launcher pro and haven't regretted it yet. Its smooth, looks great, and has great features we have all been waiting for. Imo once developers get a hold of this its gonna be the best thing ever for the D2

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  8. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    16,943
    Likes Received:
    824
    Trophy Points:
    113
    you dont need lp or adw it has 7 screens and it flies.
  9. fishaholic
    Offline

    fishaholic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah launcher pro was boggin me down once I ditched it worked great!
  10. rjp0615
    Offline

    rjp0615 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    I only use 3 homescreens lol. I paid for the full launcherpro. sucks for me. I think my task killer was giving me inaccurate readings on free memory. the android one says im about 200M free. I'm getting used to it now lol
  11. Jboxen
    Offline

    Jboxen Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    I used imoseyons mods and am oc to 1.25ghz. So fast.
  12. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    You don't need a task killer. Get rid of it.
  13. rabidturtles359
    Offline

    rabidturtles359 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Agreed :)

    Delivered to you by my Liberated D2
  14. tfotos
    Offline

    tfotos New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Warner Robins, GA
    Just out of curiosity... how is your battery life since you've overclocked. I was going to OC this phone but am worried that the battery will last less than 5 hours. If my battery won't last at least one work shift I'll go crazy.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  15. rjp0615
    Offline

    rjp0615 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    I'm running much smoother since freezing a bunch of blur stuff. Phone is working well now.

    also, I'm noticing a big difference in signal strength. where I used to pull down 1 or 2 bars, I'm now pulling down 2-3 bars.
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2011
  16. kptphalkon
    Offline

    kptphalkon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That is interesting to me more moreso than the GB update itself,

    I am on the D2G and am waiting patiently, but if your signal quality isnt just erroneous possibly the baseband got updated as well? Could possibly be why the d2g is taking longer, with multiple radios and a different framework and such.,
Search tags for this page
boost android performance gingerbread
,
boost performance on gingerbread
,
how increase gingerbread performance
,
how to boost android performance gingerbread
,
how to boost gingerbread speed
,
how to improve android gingerbread performance
,

how to improve gingerbread performance

,
how to increase speed of ginger bread
,
how to increaseandroid gingerbread performance
,

improve gingerbread performance

,
improving performance on android gingerbread
,
increase gingerbred android performance
,

increase performance gingerbread

,
perfomance increase gingerbread