Gingerbread on the D2

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2' started by Backnblack, Jan 4, 2011.

  1. tb110895
    Offline

    tb110895 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    And the built in task manager app
  2. tb110895
    Offline

    tb110895 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    You can lock messages now and search social networking updates.

    Sent from my DROID2
  3. negropy
    Offline

    negropy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I would leave Launcherpro, it got an update with gb fixes today, should work

    Sent from my R2D2
  4. DrFeelgood
    Offline

    DrFeelgood New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is it just me or does the DROID notification sound sound slightly different on gingerbread?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  5. elvyrorie
    Offline

    elvyrorie New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville
    I like the new os pretty good, can't wait for root though, that will be awesome.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  6. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Sorry. 2.2, version 2.3.2. That's the current stock official OS.

    When the push comes from Verizon? My guess is you'll get the opportunity to upgrade and iif you do you will get upgraded and unrooted. For P3 Droids leak you need to be at 2.2 stock, at least that's what he told me last night. You still have to be rooted to install P3 Droid's leak but when you install it you will no longer be rooted.
  7. arm121
    Offline

    arm121 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    loving gingerbread. but i wish it had the old tv tube lock screen animation. I thought that was stock on gingerbread. Maybe Moto blurred it xD
  8. UrbanBounca
    Online

    UrbanBounca Rescue Squad Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Virginia
    I've been using GB since this morning, and after a day of using it, I am extremely impressed, even without root. The transitions are smooth, and I no longer need LauncherPro.

    The features are pretty awesome for being stock. You can add/remove icons on the dock. You can create your own app drawer, which allows you to technically hide the app's you don't use or need. The new SMS is very smooth compared to Froyo.

    Like I said, I'm extremely happy with it at this point.
  9. elvyrorie
    Offline

    elvyrorie New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville
    I really miss the ad blocking in liberty, didn't realize that until I went back to stock

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  10. connor3485
    Offline

    connor3485 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    anyone here able to get into recovery to wipe data? before the update i was able to hold pwr+x till the android guy showed up and then hit the HW search button and it gave me the menu...that didnt work for me neither did the volume up+camera buttons.

    Also, i saw the DX got the red MotoMobility logo when they boot. On my D2 i'm still seeing the white and black logo. anybody else seeing this?
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2011
  11. drinksprite
    Offline

    drinksprite New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    anyone get swype to work? its not working for me

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  12. drinksprite
    Offline

    drinksprite New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Under display settings, choose automatic brightness. this fixed the issue for me.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  13. tb110895
    Offline

    tb110895 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    You now have to option to lock messages and delete multiple messages in side the thread.
    Might take some pics for those of you that haven't seen it. (Can't take screenies yet)

    Sent from my DROID2
  14. phlux
    Offline

    phlux New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    I'm assuming that I can't flash the GB ROM on 2.2.1? I'm reading on the TBH app that I need to be on 2.3.20 firmware, but I've always been at 2.2.1, unless I'm looking in the wrong place.

    When I go to Settings -> About Phone -> Android Version, it says 2.2.1, but I've never received an update for that, and every time I checked before I was rooted (which wasn't very long ago) it said I was fully updated.

    If I need to get to 2.3.20, are there any instructions on how to do so? Should I unroot and flash back to stock? Thanks in advance...
  15. louy99
    Offline

    louy99 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i use to run liberty 1.5 and had the hotspot tether hack. i was curious if the hack patch was still installed when i flashed GB. i turned on the 3g hotspot and surfed the web without having a verizon website popup first to accept hotspot terms and agreement...does this mean it's still hacked? if so, that rocks!! i also have a much higher quadrant score with GB. before it was 1535 overclocked @ 1.2ghz and now its 1630. im cool with that.dancedroid does anyone else have free tether too?
  16. louy99
    Offline

    louy99 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have a 2.3.20 sbf
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/17968786/droid/VRZ_A955_2.3.20_1FF_01.sbf
  17. phlux
    Offline

    phlux New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Thanks! Should I follow standard SBF flashing protocol, or do I need to do something special? I'm currently running Liberty 1.5..I don't want to flash the wrong SBF and end up in a bootloop.
  18. connor3485
    Offline

    connor3485 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    android version is different than system version. 2.3.20 is the moto system version, which runs android 2.2.
  19. louy99
    Offline

    louy99 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was on liberty 1.5 too when I had to use it...you should be good

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  20. phlux
    Offline

    phlux New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    I don't have a "System Version."
Search tags for this page
4.1.2 slideshow transition
,

droid 2 global in pocket detection

,
how to get to in pocket detection on gingerbread software
,
pocket detection in android gingerbread