Gingerbread on Facinate with no bloatware...a reality?

Discussion in 'Samsung Fascinate Development' started by broderp, Oct 11, 2011.

  1. broderp

    broderp Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry for the stupid noob post.<br><br>My computer was redone (new WIndows 7 install) and I lost al my links and information.&nbsp; I had read there was a leak of the 2.3 Gingerbread for the Facinate, that included all the usually bloatware.<br><br>This was quite a while ago.&nbsp; Since its now obvious that Verizon will not be updating our phones with 2.3 <img class="inlineimg" title="Icon Evil" border="0" alt="" src="http://cdn.droidblog.net/forum/images/smilies/smile2/icon_evil.gif" smilieid="44">&nbsp;I was wanting to root my phone.&nbsp; Does anyone have a link to the files for the Gingerbread OS? and how to install it?&nbsp; <br><br>I use to have a link to the Android forum, but I cant even find the forum on the web site anymore. <img class="inlineimg" title="Icon Eek" border="0" alt="" src="http://cdn.droidblog.net/forum/images/smilies/smile2/icon_eek.gif" smilieid="43"><br><br>Also...Does a phone have to be rooted to have the Gingerbread OS?
     
  2. soulshot96

    soulshot96 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have stock vanilla android 2.3.5 with no bloatware with everything working on my fascinate...jt's vanilla gb rom.

    Sent from my Xoom using DroidForums
     
  3. droid2drummer

    droid2drummer Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,596
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Ga...
    Ratings:
    +10
    Interested in your root path... I'm a Droid flashaholic with an unrooted fascinate. However when I bought it.I did a data reset and sadly took the update
    Usually I sell these but like the elements on this one. So I will probably put cm7 on it..
    Thanks for any help..
    I DID see a thread on cyanogen but seeing if I can find another way first. PEACE!
    You may have seen me around the d2 forums..
    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums
     
  4. soulshot96

    soulshot96 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    So what do you need exactly? I can link you with some instructions for my rom if you'd like. But they are for a rooted fascinate, you'll need to root first.

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums
     
  5. droid2drummer

    droid2drummer Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,596
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Ga...
    Ratings:
    +10
    Hey brother! Yes I went and grabbed Odin3 and used a tar file dl105 or whatever...I got it downgraded so now with z4 I rooted it...now, can I just download a file or ROM and do the same in pda to flash? Thanks..I'm used to rsdlite with droids..lol But I'm lovin this..thanks for all your wisdom bro!

    Tapped by the Droid Drummer!
    Cyanogen Hunger--------Peace---------->>>
     
  6. soulshot96

    soulshot96 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  7. soulshot96

    soulshot96 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just pick the rom you want and there should be a how to somewhere for it

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums
     
  8. droid2drummer

    droid2drummer Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,596
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Ga...
    Ratings:
    +10
    So, I just flash the one tar file in Odin3 in pda and that's it? Or do I need the pit as well? Thanks bro...I'm not used to asking, usually teaching..lol Your patience and help has been and is appreiciated...btw, I will check the thread..just seeing before hand if I needed anything else..I'm sure ill be fine..Now I know how to odin3 back to stock should issues arise! Peace!

    Tapped by the Droid Drummer!
    Cyanogen Hunger--------Peace---------->>>
     
  9. soulshot96

    soulshot96 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm not sure, just check the treads for info on how you should flash. If you're still choosing a rom OMGB v1.2.3 is pretty awesome. I just flashed it and I haven't found any problems. Its basically stock 2.3.7 no mods. Just vanilla android. Even more vannila than JT's vannila build of 2.3.5. I'd try it.

    Sent from my Xoom using DroidForums
     
  10. droid2drummer

    droid2drummer Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,596
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Ga...
    Ratings:
    +10
    Cool, is it like cm7 with a theme chooser?

    Tapped by the Droid Drummer!
    Cyanogen Hunger--------Peace---------->>>
     
  11. soulshot96

    soulshot96 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep t-mo theme Chooser an all. I think its based off cm7.

    Sent from my Xoom using DroidForums
     
  12. droid2drummer

    droid2drummer Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,596
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Ga...
    Ratings:
    +10
    I'm going for it! It would seem I could just dl the Rom and then just put it in PDA and flash it...but I'm not sure about if the modem and kernel have to be added or if its included...lol just new to Odin3

    Tapped by the Droid Drummer!
    Cyanogen Hunger--------Peace---------->>>
     
  13. soulshot96

    soulshot96 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well ever since I upgraded to JT's gb rom I haven't used Odin for roms. Gb roms seem to all be flashed via clockwork mod recovery. But u have to follow a set of instructions to get to the point where you can put a gb rom on and then its easy to switch, not before. I'm going to try to find those instructions to go from anything to jts vanilla gb rom for you, I figure you can follow them and then once everything's set up you can download OMGB and flash it in the recovery. But it may be a long process, but it is worth it.

    Sent from my Xoom using DroidForums
     
  14. soulshot96

    soulshot96 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  15. soulshot96

    soulshot96 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    How you doin?

    Sent from my Xoom using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page
downgrading rooted sch i500
,
fascinate downgrade 2.3.5
,
how to root 2.3.5 fascinate without computer
,

root fascinate 2.3.5

,
root fascinate 2.3.5 no computer
,
root fascinate without computer
,
root mesmerize 2.3.5 no computer
,
root samsung galaxy s sch i500 no pc
,

rooting samsung fascinate 2.3.5

,
stock phone without bloatware