Gingerbread Keyboard

Discussion in 'Liberty ROM DX' started by homeeey, Jan 17, 2011.

  1. homeeey
    Offline

    homeeey New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't have a check box for the Swype keyboard in the settings/keyboard menu. Only way I can get the GB keyboard is to uninstall swype and the android KB.

    Anyone else?
     
  2. Mr. Killzone
    Offline

    Mr. Killzone New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was looking for keyboards on the marketplace and came across the gingerbread. I installed the free version and when I went to settings to switch to it it said that it can collect personal data and credit card info. Perhaps I am just paranoid but does the gingerbread keyboard just collect it to phone or something more "sinister"?

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
     
  3. dbst
    Offline

    dbst Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indiana
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's just a warning that pops up for every keyboard, all of the popular keyboards from the market are safe to use

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  4. Mr. Killzone
    Offline

    Mr. Killzone New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you. I figured as much but I just wanted to make sure.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
     
  5. Mr. Killzone
    Offline

    Mr. Killzone New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I changed the settings and I can't get the settings to apply. Any thoughts? I did save the settings.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
     
  6. Mr. Killzone
    Offline

    Mr. Killzone New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have tried restarting the phone to see if that would work but it did not.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
     
  7. bassmankc
    Offline

    bassmankc Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Ratings:
    +0
    I rooted just because I loved the gingerbread keyboard on my D1, and now I can't seem to find any good links, I'm not looking for a custom ROM, just the keyboard. Can anyone pull this out of their hat for me?
     
  8. bmking24
    Offline

    bmking24 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Honestly, if I remember correctly it is available in the market. I think I remember seeing it there during one of my many travels around the market! Or since you're rooted, you could just load cm7 on it and have ALL of gingerbread!
    Hope you find it!

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  9. bassmankc
    Offline

    bassmankc Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Ratings:
    +0
    I downloaded it, and its really not as good... lol, I'm trying to stay away from the ROMs for awhile, it tends to become an obsession with me! But thanks for the suggestion.

    Sent from my ADR6300 using DroidForums App
     
  10. enlightened
    Offline

    enlightened DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +4
    Here you go- keyboard zip is attached.
     
  11. bassmankc
    Offline

    bassmankc Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you that is the only I was looking for, the link I found was dead!
    Sent from my ADR6300 using DroidForums App
     
  12. bassmankc
    Offline

    bassmankc Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok do I flashed this and it shows up in my keyboards, however when I select it, its still the stock kb, any ideas?

    Sent from my ADR6300 using DroidForums App
     
  13. seang
    Offline

    seang Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    long press in a text input field. you should see an option to select the KB there.
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2011
  14. TheLastNative
    Offline

    TheLastNative Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Finally discovered tonight that Gingerbread was finally released for the DInc2. For the past two weeks I've been using the Gingerbread keyboard that I got on the Android Market. Now that Gingerbread is installed I want to use it's new keyboard without the app, but I can't get it to replace HTC's keyboard.

    I unistalled the app but where do I go to change it. I looked in the keyboard settings but there is no option.
     
  15. kingsway8605
    Offline

    kingsway8605 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Go into the keyboard settings and make sure the keyboard you want to use is checked. This only activates the keyboard, it doesn't select it. Now open the browser. Touch and HOLD your finger in the url bar, a little box will pop up. Select "input method" and pick your keyboard.

    HTC replaces the stock gingerbread keyboard with their own. You will have to install the stock gingerbread keyboard first if you want to use it.


    Sent from my ADR6350 using Tapatalk
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2011
Search tags for this page

disable swipe gingerbread

,

how to turn swype off on gingerbread