1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Gingerbread for DX already rooted.

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by b1ackplague, Mar 28, 2011.

  1. b1ackplague
    Offline

    b1ackplague New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A lot of your questions can be answered by reading through the link GB P-R thread so please start there. There's several links in this thread to it.

    P3droid via twitter has GB rooted.

    https://mobile.twitter.com/p3droid#p3droid

    " P3Droid OK YOU HAVE TO PROMISE NOT TO KILL MY SERVER, BUT I HAVE ROOT ON CONSUMER GINGERBREAD,pass the word"

    Instructions on how to root GB.

    http://www.mydroidworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6729

    Droid X Gingerbread (2.3.3) - Release - PreRooted

    Credit goes to TBH, P3droid courtesy of mydroidworld forums.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2011
  2. wrightperspective
    Offline

    wrightperspective New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ATL
    Here's my question. I know I need to flash back to 2.3.340 - but is that the FULL FILE or the SYSTEM ONLY File. System only would be so much nicer if that would work.

    Someone please let me know. Thanks.
  3. PapaSmurf1027
    Offline

    PapaSmurf1027 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yeah I have the same question too

    I have the TBH app. can I download the .340 sbf and go into recovery and update through that? OR do I need to use RSD?
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2011
  4. wrightperspective
    Offline

    wrightperspective New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ATL
    "P3Droid P3Droid
    sorry for the days of my lives drama, had to get something off my chest, wasn't a cold. Back to business...final testing being done"

    Getting closer!!!!!
  5. ColourMiiWorld
    Offline

    ColourMiiWorld Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Thee Sunshine State B-)
    Same question for me as well
  6. PapaSmurf1027
    Offline

    PapaSmurf1027 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    After digging, We can only use the TBH files only through Clockworkmod. We have to download the 2.3.340 sbf file and do it through RSDLite.

    Does it matter if its system only or full sbf?
  7. drblythe
    Offline

    drblythe New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    P3Droid everyone go to bed, tomorrow is release day
  8. Jaxidian
    Offline

    Jaxidian Team FreeMyMoto Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    My understanding is you need to use the full 340 SBF, NOT the system-only one. I could be misunderstanding it, though. Better safe than sorry. Either way, you should assume that you need to do a factory reset. It's a BAD idea to not do that, imho.
  9. gudziel1482
    Offline

    gudziel1482 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yesterday afternoon, I had ran the 2.3.34 full .sbf file from TBH's app. After that, an easy install through cwr of the Monster.zip (downloaded from a mirror site) had my phone up and running. I agree with Jaxidian, I ALWAYS do full wipes no matter what. Rather be safe than sorry.

    Running the GB leak now and absolutely love it. dancedroid
  10. b1ackplague
    Offline

    b1ackplague New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Which version are you using? The full SBF of 2.3.320 or 2.3.340? If you're using .340 maybe try using .320 first then upgrade to .340 with the system only SBF. Or just go into recovery, and SBF with RSD again. Could have been a bad flash.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  11. b1ackplague
    Offline

    b1ackplague New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Also, which version of RSD lite and what desktop OS?

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  12. chefb
    Offline

    chefb Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I'm running liberty can I just flash the pre root gingerbread mirror?
  13. Jaxidian
    Offline

    Jaxidian Team FreeMyMoto Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    If you're running a 64-bit version of Windows 7, be sure to get the 64-bit drivers out of my signature and to use RSD Lite 4.8. It's a finicky scenario but it works well with the proper drivers and proper version of RSD Lite. If you're running 32-bit Windows, grab the 32-bit drivers from my signature and I think 4.8 or 4.9 will work.

    FYI, my driver links go to Motorola's site, nothing untrustworthy. Also, if you search Moto's site for the drivers, you actually get different ones that do not work! So use these links. :)
  14. Jaxidian
    Offline

    Jaxidian Team FreeMyMoto Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    Make a nandroid backup and give it a shot. Worst-case scenario, you'll boot to the bootloader and need to SBF back to 340 (after which you can reroot and restore your backup just fine). Next worst-case scenario (if you bootloop), you'll have to boot into recovery and do a factory reset, at which point GB will then boot up.

    As said before, I recommend you do a factory reset afterwards regardless of whether you bootloop or not.
  15. chefb
    Offline

    chefb Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Its on the black hat app now as rooted gingerbread rom......problem is I don't have wifi should I download over 3g.....I have wifi at work,but I don't go back till thursday....
  16. turdbogls
    Offline

    turdbogls New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    O-Town FL
    thank you for this. i was dreading having to dig my old WIN XP computer out....that thing is slow as balls. I was trying to decide what to do. i am really liking how my phone is running on stock GB right now. do i wait for the stock one to get root, or do i just flash back to 2.3.340 and flash the root version....decisions decisions :)
  17. mbjr
    Offline

    mbjr New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have this installed but am unable to get into recovery uder any method, anyone else have this issue? Rom run nice and smooth, root works great but can not get into clockwork or recovery, phone reboots, get red M then screen stays light but goes black. Only fix is to pull battery then normal boot applies.
  18. b1ackplague
    Offline

    b1ackplague New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Its a known problem with bootstrap recovery. They're trying to find a fix/workaround.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  19. mbjr
    Offline

    mbjr New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks, I'll wait keep an eye out.
  20. b1ackplague
    Offline

    b1ackplague New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    P3droid via twitter said he is working on it and will have a fix shortly. It may require you to flash back to stock and re-do the process, hopefully not.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk