Gingerbread for DX already rooted.

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by b1ackplague, Mar 28, 2011.

  1. b1ackplague

    b1ackplague New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    A lot of your questions can be answered by reading through the link GB P-R thread so please start there. There's several links in this thread to it.

    P3droid via twitter has GB rooted.

    https://mobile.twitter.com/p3droid#p3droid

    " P3Droid OK YOU HAVE TO PROMISE NOT TO KILL MY SERVER, BUT I HAVE ROOT ON CONSUMER GINGERBREAD,pass the word"

    Instructions on how to root GB.

    http://www.mydroidworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6729

    Droid X Gingerbread (2.3.3) - Release - PreRooted

    Credit goes to TBH, P3droid courtesy of mydroidworld forums.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2011
  2. wrightperspective

    wrightperspective Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    ATL
    Ratings:
    +1
    Here's my question. I know I need to flash back to 2.3.340 - but is that the FULL FILE or the SYSTEM ONLY File. System only would be so much nicer if that would work.

    Someone please let me know. Thanks.
     
  3. PapaSmurf1027

    PapaSmurf1027 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah I have the same question too

    I have the TBH app. can I download the .340 sbf and go into recovery and update through that? OR do I need to use RSD?
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2011
  4. wrightperspective

    wrightperspective Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    ATL
    Ratings:
    +1
    "P3Droid P3Droid
    sorry for the days of my lives drama, had to get something off my chest, wasn't a cold. Back to business...final testing being done"

    Getting closer!!!!!
     
  5. ColourMiiWorld

    ColourMiiWorld Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Thee Sunshine State B-)
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same question for me as well
     
  6. PapaSmurf1027

    PapaSmurf1027 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    After digging, We can only use the TBH files only through Clockworkmod. We have to download the 2.3.340 sbf file and do it through RSDLite.

    Does it matter if its system only or full sbf?
     
  7. drblythe

    drblythe New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    P3Droid everyone go to bed, tomorrow is release day
     
  8. Jaxidian

    Jaxidian Team FreeMyMoto Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    Ratings:
    +0
    My understanding is you need to use the full 340 SBF, NOT the system-only one. I could be misunderstanding it, though. Better safe than sorry. Either way, you should assume that you need to do a factory reset. It's a BAD idea to not do that, imho.
     
  9. gudziel1482

    gudziel1482 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yesterday afternoon, I had ran the 2.3.34 full .sbf file from TBH's app. After that, an easy install through cwr of the Monster.zip (downloaded from a mirror site) had my phone up and running. I agree with Jaxidian, I ALWAYS do full wipes no matter what. Rather be safe than sorry.

    Running the GB leak now and absolutely love it. dancedroid
     
  10. b1ackplague

    b1ackplague New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Which version are you using? The full SBF of 2.3.320 or 2.3.340? If you're using .340 maybe try using .320 first then upgrade to .340 with the system only SBF. Or just go into recovery, and SBF with RSD again. Could have been a bad flash.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
     
  11. b1ackplague

    b1ackplague New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also, which version of RSD lite and what desktop OS?

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
     
  12. chefb

    chefb Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    I'm running liberty can I just flash the pre root gingerbread mirror?