Gingerbread browser on Froyo???

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by jchammer123, Dec 5, 2011.

  1. jchammer123

    jchammer123 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston
    Ratings:
    +2
    I recently just went back to a Froyo rom because the latest GB builds are not running well on my OG droid. I miss the GB stock browser! Is there a way to get the apk for it, or how can I get it on my Froyo rom? I've searched, but haven't been able to find it like I did the new market. Any help is much appreciated!

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  2. CJM

    CJM Developer Relations
    Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10,173
    Likes Received:
    1,167
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +1,266
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Twitter:
    https://twitter.com/Corey
    From any specific GB rom? I would just use 7zip to get it from my favorite rom and try & install it like any other app. Or I can give you one in an update.zip to flash through recovery.
     
  3. jchammer123

    jchammer123 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston
    Ratings:
    +2
    CJM to the rescue once again!

    I liked the browser in Liquid 3.2.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  4. CJM

    CJM Developer Relations
    Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10,173
    Likes Received:
    1,167
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +1,266
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Twitter:
    https://twitter.com/Corey
    Here you go. I just pulled the Browser from Liquid 3.2 and put it in an update.zip. Its been a loonngg time since I've used any Liquid roms. And I dont know if this is compatible with froyo. So Make A Backup!

    Link pulled, didnt work .This going to put it in System/App if you need to look for it.
     
  5. jchammer123

    jchammer123 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thank you! I will flash it in the morning and let ya know!

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  6. CJM

    CJM Developer Relations
    Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10,173
    Likes Received:
    1,167
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +1,266
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Twitter:
    https://twitter.com/Corey
    Np. The browser app is the only thing in that zip, so it will flash fast.
     
  7. jchammer123

    jchammer123 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston
    Ratings:
    +2
    It didn't work. I flashed the zip and when I rebooted the browser was not in the app drawer. So I went to system/app and tried to install the browser but it says there was a problem parsing the app, or something along those lines.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  8. CJM

    CJM Developer Relations
    Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10,173
    Likes Received:
    1,167
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +1,266
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Twitter:
    https://twitter.com/Corey
    OK. We can try a few more ways. You may have to delete your existing Browser app and reboot 1st. It would be in either Data/app or System/App.

    Edit: Links didnt work :(

    Maybe one of those will work.
     
  9. jchammer123

    jchammer123 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston
    Ratings:
    +2
    I tried all three ways and I got the same error message. Maybe that browser wasn't meant for Froyo?
     
  10. CJM

    CJM Developer Relations
    Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10,173
    Likes Received:
    1,167
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +1,266
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Twitter:
    https://twitter.com/Corey
    Well crud. I guess if it was gonna work, 1 of those would've worked.
     
  11. jchammer123

    jchammer123 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yeah. I'm gonna be getting the GNexus anyways whenever they decide to release it! So its not too big of a deal.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  12. rck76

    rck76 Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +38
    You could try pulling the app from the .zip and putting it in /system/apps, set permissions, and reboot. Use root explorer or something similar. I'm not sure if it would work but it's worth a try:)

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
Search tags for this page
android stock browser gingerbread mod froyo
,
browser zip for gingerbread
,
how to update android stock browser for froyo
,
how to update stock htc gingerbread browser
,
s3 browser apk for gingerbread
,
stock browser apk for ginggebreak
,
stock browser apk froyo
,
stock froyo browser apk
,
update browser on froyo
,

update froyo browser