Gingerbread browser on Froyo???

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by jchammer123, Dec 5, 2011.

  1. jchammer123

    jchammer123 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston
    Ratings:
    +2
    I recently just went back to a Froyo rom because the latest GB builds are not running well on my OG droid. I miss the GB stock browser! Is there a way to get the apk for it, or how can I get it on my Froyo rom? I've searched, but haven't been able to find it like I did the new market. Any help is much appreciated!

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  2. CJM

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,437
    Likes Received:
    601
    Trophy Points:
    228
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +609
    From any specific GB rom? I would just use 7zip to get it from my favorite rom and try & install it like any other app. Or I can give you one in an update.zip to flash through recovery.
     
  3. jchammer123

    jchammer123 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston
    Ratings:
    +2
    CJM to the rescue once again!

    I liked the browser in Liquid 3.2.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  4. CJM

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,437
    Likes Received:
    601
    Trophy Points:
    228
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +609
    Here you go. I just pulled the Browser from Liquid 3.2 and put it in an update.zip. Its been a loonngg time since I've used any Liquid roms. And I dont know if this is compatible with froyo. So Make A Backup!

    Link pulled, didnt work .This going to put it in System/App if you need to look for it.
     
  5. jchammer123

    jchammer123 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thank you! I will flash it in the morning and let ya know!

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  6. CJM

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,437
    Likes Received:
    601
    Trophy Points:
    228
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +609
    Np. The browser app is the only thing in that zip, so it will flash fast.
     
  7. jchammer123

    jchammer123 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston
    Ratings:
    +2
    It didn't work. I flashed the zip and when I rebooted the browser was not in the app drawer. So I went to system/app and tried to install the browser but it says there was a problem parsing the app, or something along those lines.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  8. CJM

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,437
    Likes Received:
    601
    Trophy Points:
    228
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +609
    OK. We can try a few more ways. You may have to delete your existing Browser app and reboot 1st. It would be in either Data/app or System/App.

    Edit: Links didnt work :(

    Maybe one of those will work.
     
  9. jchammer123

    jchammer123 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston
    Ratings:
    +2
    I tried all three ways and I got the same error message. Maybe that browser wasn't meant for Froyo?
     
  10. CJM

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,437
    Likes Received:
    601
    Trophy Points:
    228
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +609
    Well crud. I guess if it was gonna work, 1 of those would've worked.
     
  11. jchammer123

    jchammer123 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yeah. I'm gonna be getting the GNexus anyways whenever they decide to release it! So its not too big of a deal.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  12. rck76

    rck76 DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +38
    You could try pulling the app from the .zip and putting it in /system/apps, set permissions, and reboot. Use root explorer or something similar. I'm not sure if it would work but it's worth a try:)

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  13. CJM

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,437
    Likes Received:
    601
    Trophy Points:
    228
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +609
    I deleted the links already, but I posted a zip and just the app. Kept getting the same error. We're thinking its not compatible with Froyo
     
  14. rck76

    rck76 DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +38
    I know apps will install by using the method I posted, however, there will be force close issues if the browser is not compatible with froyo. I'm thinking it probably isn't anyway because the gingerbread build has copy and paste features whereas froyo does not.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  15. jchammer123

    jchammer123 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yeah I notice a lot of things missing on Froyo that I had gottne used to. But, its running problem free, and that's all I need for the next week or so.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page
android stock browser gingerbread mod froyo
,
browser zip for gingerbread
,
default gingerbread browser apk
,
froyo browser apk
,
galaxy s3 browser for gingerbread
,
gingerbread browser zip
,
htc gingerbread stock browser
,
s3 browser apk for gingerbread
,
update browser on froyo
,

update froyo browser