Thanks for the info! I would say Google is not backing up app data to the Google account. Looks like app data is only on the phone and gets erased during a factory reset. So does anyone know what the Backup/Restore check boxes do under the Android Privacy settings? I thought those were meant to preserve the app data in situations like this! Sent from my unrooted DroidX using DroidForums app.