Gingerbread battery and what Verizon is doing

mkris101

Reaction score
Like many other post on battery life, After My wife and I's X were upgraded to gingerbread, the battery life crashed on them. maybe 4 to 6 hours. On Froyo I got 1.5 days and my wife would get 3 days of battery life.

It is important to note the my wife and I are in our forties and are not heavy texters, surfers ect. I am a IT manager so I mainly use my X for a corp e-mail that is pushed. I also understand that when upgrades come out there are bugs. IE Microsoft!

Spoke to Verizon tech and they did a factory reset and then decided to replace my phone.. got the new phone yesterday and am having the same issue.. well duh. Its the software..

Verizon offered to send me an extended Battery for free as they confirmed that yes there are battery issues.. I agreed but 2 hours later the phone died from a dead battery after about 5 hours of little use. So I called the local corp store and explained the story.. Now my situation my be extreem because my father is in Intensive care and I have the power of attorney to decide all medical care so I need to be in constant contact. The store has offered to do a model upgrade free of charge.. Good service Verizon! I am looking at the X2 but I am guessing that it may have the same issue.. I can select another brand as long as it is a Droid OS.. any suggestion?

destin246

Reaction score
X2 is probably your best bet or droid charge

Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums

destin246

Reaction score
And I may add that the x is running 2.3 gingerbread and the x2 is running 2.2 froyo

Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums

Last edited:
OP
M

mkris101

Reaction score
the X2 will get gingerbread at some point.. havent heard too many good things about it

ekf028

Reaction score