Getting SO frustrated with Drops

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR' started by ITguy4, Jan 7, 2012.

  1. ITguy4
    Offline

    ITguy4 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is not one of those "I hate MY RAZR" or "I am returning my RAZR" threads. I do LOVE my RAZR, but I have to vent that it is almost impossible to leave my house without some sort of loss of all data where I am unable to get either 4G or 3G data for anywhere from a few minutes to longer periods of time. I live in the heart of the Pittsburgh area where 4G is strong and I rarely go beyond a 10 mile radius of my house. I have a constant and strong 4G signal at my house (where I generally use WIFI anyhow), but I have been left stranded without ANY data so many times this week when I am away from home and when I most need it.

    OK. I feel a little better now. I am patiently waiting for them to stabilize things.
  2. jedi
    Offline

    jedi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Vent away. I am about to return this for an iPhone. It's an absolute joke to pay $300 for a phone and not have data. My old blackberry always had data and the razr fails. My wifes OG has data but not the great razr.
    Their 4g map is an out right lie. I can't even consistently get 3G let alone 4.

    Ok, I thought that would make me feel better but not much. Still with a phone with no data connection.
  3. photodan70
    Offline

    photodan70 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    I am in Pgh, and mine has stabilized recently, luckily! But it has been a frustrating month! Hopefully it will continue to improve...
  4. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,391
    Likes Received:
    998
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Guys thanks for this thread. Because I was half way to the store to return my nexus. It seems like vzw really needs to get there stuff together.
  5. AZClimber
    Offline

    AZClimber New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Land of Sun, Sand and Thorns - AZ
    These dual processor 4G smart phones (which all have poor battery life) are like owning a brand new 12 cylinder Ferrari with a 1 gallon gas tank.
  6. tgyberg
    Offline

    tgyberg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,795
    Likes Received:
    220
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    This is such a strange deal. Each phone model has both good and bad examples. It's literally a crap shoot when you walk in to a store and pick up a phone. I just cant imagine what the variables are??
  7. jerkk
    Offline

    jerkk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is this likely a problem with Verizon? Or with the Razr? I've been having issues too with data drops and even a handful of deadzones for voice, though that's less of an issue.

    I've had the phone now for a couple months and I want to like it.......
  8. thelastbill
    Offline

    thelastbill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Im having pretty good luck toggling airplane mode. If I get a drop that isnt corrected quickly, I use my airplane widget and it seems to help. Hopefully a better fix is coming soon
  9. BlueShadow
    Offline

    BlueShadow New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What does airplane mode do, and why would it help?
    Thanks.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  10. eidian
    Offline

    eidian New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    VZW had 4g troubles last month. They had three nation-wide blackouts in as many weeks. I was thinking that the cells in my area sucked but it was wide spread.

    Perhaps they're still having troubles in certain areas?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  11. GalaxyFlatulence
    Offline

    GalaxyFlatulence New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    :popcorn:
  12. Kimo91
    Offline

    Kimo91 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm assuming its regional areas that are having 4G droppage/issues...I'm in the southeast, namely South Carolina and I haven't had any issues with 4G, it stays constantly on 3 bars in my apartment and 5 bars when I'm out and about, and solid 5 bars when I'm on 3G whether indoors or outdoors

    Sent from my Rooted and Safestrapped Moto DROID RAZR
  13. eidian
    Offline

    eidian New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    http://m.bgr.com/2011/12/28/verizon-4g-lte-suffering-nationwide-outage-for-third-time-this-month/

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  14. Kimo91
    Offline

    Kimo91 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh I understand that I was just saying I haven't experienced at outage issues. I just don't know where a lot of people saying its a nationwide issue when I last read a week or so ago it was parts of regions that were having issues. Oh I didn't take offense or anything just lost where people are saying "nationwide" issues.

    Sent from my Rooted and Safestrapped Moto DROID RAZR
  15. bigkhan
    Offline

    bigkhan New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Its not any phone its is Verizon.and they need to get it fixed all these new phones are having data problems. By the way I'm also from the Pittsburgh area.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  16. Zandar
    Offline

    Zandar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I really don't get when people say, "I'm tired of these data drops; I'm going with the iPhone." Just run your RAZR in 3G only; you'll still have the option for 4G if you ever want to (or if Verizon ever gets their network sorted). Why would you not even want the option?

    That would be like having an early HDTV that would sometimes freeze up after playing a bluray (not during) requiring you to restart the TV, but it worked fine in non-HD mode. Your solution? Buy a non-HDTV. Seriously? Why get rid of the option?

    Sliced from my RAZR
  17. jedi
    Offline

    jedi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Read my post please.
    I don't even get 3g most of the time. I've consistently only been in cdma mode and only have data 50% of time where my old bb always had it and my wife's OG continues to be fine.
    I've tried switching to cdma/lte with same results.

    Do you understand now?
    Guess your analogy doesn't work...
  18. lilpaul21
    Offline

    lilpaul21 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is just a question.How many who have this issue of dropping all data are using smart actions to turn off their
    cellular data? Thee reason i ask is i also was experiencing this so i did a reset and had 3g all the time untill i used
    the smart actions and then for some reason when my screen would wake 3g would not kick back on.So i
    did another reset and do not use smart actions and i have 3g all the time.just wondering
  19. Einsteindks
    Offline

    Einsteindks Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    1) Verizon location app
    2) settings/data manager/data enabled checked (known to uncheck itself. Why/how I dunno.
    3) clean update to .748
    4) wait for Verizon to create a GOOD 4G network.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  20. Icyhot1966
    Offline

    Icyhot1966 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Leaving your phone in 3G doesn't always work and isn't the solution to begin with. I had to go to Airplane mode and back again to have my data start working again I find this unacceptable, as do many others. There is a reason the iPhone is the #1 selling smartphone on all the U.S. carriers that offer it.....
Search tags for this page

gsmv4g dropping off network