1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Getting Root access of you phone after the 2.1 update.

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by radar3d, Apr 17, 2010.

  1. radar3d
    Offline

    radar3d New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you have updated to 2.1 and have not rooted your phone but would like to do so here is a guide.


    2.1 SP Recovery SBF has arrived !

    This is great for those wanting to go slower and just gain root access of their phone so they can do things they couldn't otherwise like:

    Titanium backup
    Drocap2
    Metamorph
    And many others without applying a custom ROM or Kernel.

    On the otherhand it is also a stepping stone toward applying a custom rom or kernel as you need sprecovery to start with.

    Cheers,
    radar3d
    Last edited: May 3, 2010
  2. aaf709
    Offline

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,188
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal
    Thanks for the information. That looks pretty cool.
  3. bayb63
    Offline

    bayb63 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Help

    when i hit up on the dpad and try to power on the phone while rsd it up and im plugged in, all i get is a bootloader screen, i wont power on and rds lite will not show my device. any advice? :motdroidvert:
  4. radar3d
    Offline

    radar3d New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you are trying to flash the sbf you should get the bootloader screen that is where you should be. you phone should say: Battery ok
    OK to program
    Transfer Mode:
    USB
    Then in rsdlite you may have to hit show device. If it does not show up you may need to reboot your computer, or reinstall rsdlite or something else is wrong.

    Good Luck
  5. sicilianbadguy
    Offline

    sicilianbadguy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    when i am entering these command prompts

    * adb push su /system/bin/su

    * adb push Superuser.apk /system/app/Superuser.apk

    * adb shell "/system/bin/chmod 6755 /system/bin/su"

    * adb shell "/system/bin/chmod 644 /system/app/Superuser.apk"


    on my computer it pops up with a bunch of stuff which im guessing is normal, is it automatically loaded to my phone cause im commanding my computer to do so or what? cause once i did all that i type in su on my phone under the terminal window and it said access denied it didn't pop up with the # sign indicating i have root access please help
  6. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Great Info...Sticky Worthy
  7. luit5000
    Offline

    luit5000 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So Cal
    aaaahh i want to do it but it seems too complicated for me...
  8. sicilianbadguy
    Offline

    sicilianbadguy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    im trying my ass off right now previous question still standing anyone help please
  9. radar3d
    Offline

    radar3d New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2010
  10. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    16,933
    Likes Received:
    822
    Trophy Points:
    113
    nice............................
  11. sicilianbadguy
    Offline

    sicilianbadguy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ya mounted the system i just did the command prompt with adb prompts i did every step before exactly and it still says permission denied when i enter it into terminal emulator
  12. pcarcr
    Offline

    pcarcr New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Santa Fe, NM
    Has anyone tried to overclock OTA 2.1 with root? If so what kernels have you used that work? Thanks.
  13. gavron
    Offline

    gavron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Lots of poeple have. "OTA 2.1" is just different apps mixed in with a different kernel.

    You can use AdamZ's or ChevyNo1's or p3 or whomever's kernel and overclock. IT HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH OTA 2.1 or ESE53 or anything else.

    KERNEL = The core of the operation system.
    ROM = The framework in which is operates with some built-in apps.

    OVERCLOCKING (what the kernel does)

    E
  14. pcarcr
    Offline

    pcarcr New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Santa Fe, NM
    Cool, thanks for the info.
  15. BigRigSRT
    Offline

    BigRigSRT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    trying to install the damn android sdk and it keeps timing out when trying to update the packages. is there another way to do this. im guessing it wont do it through tethering my phone for internet. i am not able to get internet here
  16. jroc
    Offline

    jroc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,837
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Washington DC
    I'm not at me home PC right now, but there is a setting in the update section where u can change it to search http or something. Its something in the update section that needs to be changed.

    EDIT: Go to Settings. Near the bottom under Misc check 'Force https sources to be fetched using http' See if that helps.
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2010
  17. jwellsy
    Offline

    jwellsy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so i am about do do radar3d's tutorial on rooting OTA 2.1, but before i do. Will i lose everything? mainly worried about all my apps and app data. thats why i held out from the downgrade root
  18. 928Droid
    Offline

    928Droid Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,753
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Western North Carolina Mountains
    Not sure which tutorial version is which, but if you do the one that tells you to flash the SPRecovery SPF with RSD, then do the 4 lines of simple code via ADB to add SU and Superuser.apk then no you will not lose anything.
  19. jwellsy
    Offline

    jwellsy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    yup, sounds about right!!! :icon_ banana:
    Here is the link for a clean step by step for anyone interested How-To Root your stock 2.1 Droid
  20. christim
    Offline

    christim Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England

    Take a glance at the 3rd link in my signature. It comes across even cleaner. To root the phone you don't need to install the SDK at all. The majority of people don't need to use it. In fact I've never installed it and get around just fine. Any suggestions to make those instructions clearer is welcome.