getting really frustrated

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by adamsredlines, Feb 9, 2010.

  1. adamsredlines
    Offline

    adamsredlines New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Waco, TX
    I loved my phone for the first few months. The last few weeks...not so much

    1) mediaplayer automatically turns on when I plug in headphones and is a PITA to turn off.

    2) I get a call and answer it...and I can't hear anything. Reboot the phone and back to normal. The caller could hear me just fine. Its done this 4 times now

    3) it mysteriously turned itself off yesterday. No warning, just off.

    4) while its on its docking station (Motorola part), the weather quit displaying -- degrees. Also while on the docking station its not gone into dock mode before. If I remove it from the dock and put it back, it will work, but why does it take two tries?
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    I think you have an app that's not playing nice with your phone. Here's what you need to do. Do a hard reset and remove everything except the basics. See how it performs for a day or so. Then start adding your apps back on. See if you can't find the one that's causing you an issue.

    BTW, if you have Advance Task Killer I'd try removing that first. That's been known to cause issues on other peoples phones and just removing it fixed them.
  3. adamsredlines
    Offline

    adamsredlines New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Waco, TX
    Hmmmm, I just removed about 9 apps...not all but the ones that are left are ones I used for months with no issue. Will do a hard reset and see how it goes. Thanks!
  4. adamsredlines
    Offline

    adamsredlines New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Waco, TX
    Here's my current list of apps....after removing ones that MAY be faulty. These should be ok...correct?

    Droid Light
    Google Maps
    Bank of America mobile banking
    Pandora
    Photobucket
    Shazam
    The Weather Channel

    Hopefully all is well.
  5. Isaiah
    Offline

    Isaiah New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't fully understand the error, but I don't believe its something you can fix. Speakerphone for it will probably work though. Because I had the same problem happen to me (VZW gave me a new droid though, and now its allll better)

    P.S. this is for number three.
  6. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Yes, give it some time to make sure it worked.
  7. adamsredlines
    Offline

    adamsredlines New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Waco, TX
    No idea what's causing it? It did it today, I was listening to pandora then got a call and when I answered it...no sound (yes, headphones were unplugged).
    Then I went to play a youtube video, no sound again. Reboot and its back to normal, but for how long?

    It also did no sound from a call on Sunday night. Reboot and back to normal...until this morning.
  8. adamsredlines
    Offline

    adamsredlines New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Waco, TX
    Well I am down to those apps and did a hard reboot earlier...youtube app isn't playing sound, but the phone still chimes when I receive a text. Guess its time to go to verizon. Grrrr
  9. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Yes, when it story still fails after all that you need to replace the phone. If I were you I'd do it with Verizon over the phone. But that's up to you. Some Verizon stores may want to duplicate the problem. If they hassle you just walk out and call Verizon.
  10. zasran
    Offline

    zasran New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San francisco, Ca
    Auto-play of default media player - very annoying, no idea how to get rid of it,

    Phone seaker not working after something was plugged in headphones jack - a known problem (google for it), pluging/unpluging something again usually helps, I solved it by going bluetooth only... BTW speakerphone still works so if it happens you can sort of solve the problem immediately ...

    Reboots - it happens sometime, if it happens too often try to figure out which app is responsible.

    ero
  11. adamsredlines
    Offline

    adamsredlines New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Waco, TX
    It sucks to pay so much for a phone, get roped into a long expensive contract...and it be filled with bugs and issues.
    Seems its all a software issue as it didn't do any of this for the first 2 months...and now it does, like an update caused it.
  12. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Why do you think that? Not everyone has those issues. Did they say they wouldn't replace it?
  13. adamsredlines
    Offline

    adamsredlines New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Waco, TX
    Haven't had time to go and check.
    If they do, I will be glad...but call me silly for thinking its odd to have to replace your new phone after only 3 months.

    Granted this has tons of capabilities none of my other phones had, but my Razr and Rokr never had any issues.
  14. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    It's not even unusual. It's a piece of electronic equipment and stuff happens.

    I understand you're being disappointed. You get everything set up the way you want it and then something like this happens. Not much you can do but get a replacement. At lest you got your warranty.
  15. zasran
    Offline

    zasran New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San francisco, Ca
    BTW a big software update (2.0.1 to 2.1) is coming really soon (this month?) which might fix some of these problems,

    ero
  16. adamsredlines
    Offline

    adamsredlines New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Waco, TX
    And to add to my rant, something I forgot...it doesn't play a lot of youtube videos...has an app for youtube built in but won't play them?
    I know the video works but I get an error message.
    Aaaah the wonderful Droid.
  17. zasran
    Offline

    zasran New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San francisco, Ca
    Youtube: Flash player is coming Q1 2010 so that should be resolved soon,

    BTW can you give some examples of videos that don't play on Droid but work fine elsewhere? Just curious...

    ero
  18. adamsredlines
    Offline

    adamsredlines New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Waco, TX
    This video was posted on a Dodge Truck forum I frequent, and it got replies.
    Wouldn't work for me...until yet another restart (had to restart it T times today to get functionality back).


  19. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Droid is a first generation device, it's not unheard of for their to be 'lemons' in production. Just because you didn't have an issue with other phones (dumb phones btw) doesn't mean it's not possible.

    Droid has it's set backs, but you're experiencing out of the ordinary issues. And YouTube has no issues for me. Haven't come across a video I couldn't play.
  20. adamsredlines
    Offline

    adamsredlines New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Waco, TX
    The video posted above is one of the many that gave me an error message, all ones that others on the forums were watching and replying to.

    If I got a lemon phone, why would all this just start in the last month?
Search tags for this page

production time of ram truck