Getting ready to switch to ATT and getting a S3, question about 4.3 etc newbie

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy S3' started by Ittindi, Jan 17, 2014.

  1. Ittindi

    Ittindi New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, I'm new to the android OS and am about to get a S3 with a ATT plan, I keep hearing how bad the 4.3 software is, my question is, will my S3 be coming with 4.3 or 4.1? Is there a way to keep it from updating, and perhaps stop it from reminding me to update?
    Thanks.
     
  2. leeshor

    leeshor DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3,230
    Likes Received:
    568
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +592
    Welcome to the forum

    There isn't really anything wrong with the 4.3 update, especially if you don't have a tin of junk in the system before updating. If the phone is new, just restart it and apply the update.

    The things you don't hear about are the people who updated to 4.3 and had no problems at all, which is the vast majority of people. What gets posted are the people who DID have a problem but you won't hear from the people who didn't.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. cybertec69

    cybertec69 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    147
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    Ratings:
    +151
    4.3 is smooth as butter on my S3, for the people who do seem to have problems are the ones that are new or have a plethora of junk apps on their phone that is causing the issues, which a factory reset 99 percent of the time would fix those issues, cleaning out the cache and such.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. eddiekeyton

    eddiekeyton Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    OHIO
    Ratings:
    +42
    Twitter:
    eddiekeyton
    I didn't have anything on mine and 4.3 made mine slower than a snail. I rooted it and put CyanogenMod on it. Now its like new.
     
  5. Jeffrey

    Jeffrey DF Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    916
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +966
    Current Phone Model:
    LG G3
    I have no issue with my S3 running 4.3. My neighbour updated his and complained of a slow down. We did a facory reset and the phone is working perfectly.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. eddiekeyton

    eddiekeyton Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    OHIO
    Ratings:
    +42
    Twitter:
    eddiekeyton
    Until you use it for a few days. Then it starts to slow down again. At least for me it did.
     
  7. leeshor

    leeshor DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3,230
    Likes Received:
    568
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +592
    You very likely have a misbehaving app. Tracking it down may not be easy. Are you using any cache cleaner app?
     
  8. eddiekeyton

    eddiekeyton Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    OHIO
    Ratings:
    +42
    Twitter:
    eddiekeyton
    Lol I tested it by not downloading anything but the stock apps already installed. It was a ROM issue. But since then I've rooted and installed android 4.4 kit kat CyanogenMod on my s3. Love it now.