Getting ready to switch to ATT and getting a S3, question about 4.3 etc newbie

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy S3' started by Ittindi, Jan 17, 2014.

  1. Ittindi
    Offline

    Ittindi New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi, I'm new to the android OS and am about to get a S3 with a ATT plan, I keep hearing how bad the 4.3 software is, my question is, will my S3 be coming with 4.3 or 4.1? Is there a way to keep it from updating, and perhaps stop it from reminding me to update?
    Thanks.
  2. leeshor
    Offline

    leeshor DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    2,903
    Likes Received:
    361
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Welcome to the forum

    There isn't really anything wrong with the 4.3 update, especially if you don't have a tin of junk in the system before updating. If the phone is new, just restart it and apply the update.

    The things you don't hear about are the people who updated to 4.3 and had no problems at all, which is the vast majority of people. What gets posted are the people who DID have a problem but you won't hear from the people who didn't.
    1 person likes this.
  3. cybertec69
    Offline

    cybertec69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    4.3 is smooth as butter on my S3, for the people who do seem to have problems are the ones that are new or have a plethora of junk apps on their phone that is causing the issues, which a factory reset 99 percent of the time would fix those issues, cleaning out the cache and such.
    1 person likes this.
  4. eddiekeyton
    Offline

    eddiekeyton Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    OHIO
    I didn't have anything on mine and 4.3 made mine slower than a snail. I rooted it and put CyanogenMod on it. Now its like new.
  5. Jeffrey
    Offline

    Jeffrey DF Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    2,455
    Likes Received:
    459
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Thailand
    I have no issue with my S3 running 4.3. My neighbour updated his and complained of a slow down. We did a facory reset and the phone is working perfectly.
    1 person likes this.
  6. eddiekeyton
    Offline

    eddiekeyton Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    OHIO
    Until you use it for a few days. Then it starts to slow down again. At least for me it did.
  7. leeshor
    Offline

    leeshor DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    2,903
    Likes Received:
    361
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    You very likely have a misbehaving app. Tracking it down may not be easy. Are you using any cache cleaner app?
  8. eddiekeyton
    Offline

    eddiekeyton Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    OHIO
    Lol I tested it by not downloading anything but the stock apps already installed. It was a ROM issue. But since then I've rooted and installed android 4.4 kit kat CyanogenMod on my s3. Love it now.