Getting Itunes DRM music files to operate with RAZR?

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR' started by makilavelli, Jan 7, 2012.

  1. makilavelli
    Offline

    makilavelli New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Hey everybody, so...lots of verbiage..here we go....

    I'm trying to import all my itunes songs on to the RAZR so I can use it in the various music players available. I have tried numerous things, but to no avail. Any assistance would be much, much appreciated. The list of things I have tried are as follows:

    1. Verizon VCAST Media Manager - DRM in file error

    2. Motocast - DRM in file error

    3. Google Music - DRM in file error

    4. Motorola Music - Cannot play this file

    5. USB Drag and Drop - Pulled the music files out of Itunes into a personal folder, dragged onto RAZR...and...DRM in file

    6. Windows Media Player - DRM in file

    7. Songbird - DRM in file, however, I feel maybe I need someone with some expertise with this app to assist me. I plugged my RAZR in and at no point was I ever given an opportunity to sync anything. Thoughts?

    Thanks everyone!
  2. droidbionicmaster
    Offline

    droidbionicmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You need too remove the drm protection their is free wear online so you can remove it

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  3. Deron
    Offline

    Deron New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    You can get low cost replacement mp3s for your music at www.mp3salu.ru. I had to do that for several of my older albums. Luckily, new music from iTunes does not have digital rights.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk
  4. JohnnytheK
    Offline

    JohnnytheK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,363
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Or you can burn the protected files to CD and then copy them to your phone. Kinda sucks about 1/3 of my music is copy protected.

    Sent from my DROID X2 using Tapatalk
  5. makilavelli
    Offline

    makilavelli New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Thanks everyone. I'll give it a shot :)

    Sent from my DROID RAZR
  6. Alphaman
    Offline

    Alphaman New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    St. Louis
    I'm in the same situation but I have probably 3000 songs with DRM. I only knew about the CD burn method but it's not practical for that much music. It would take a boat load of time and CDs for that.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
  7. tech_head
    Offline

    tech_head Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Western Hemisphere
    Sign up for iTunes Match and get the high quality DRM free version. It costs $25 for the year but you get big quality versions of even things you ripped yourself.
    Then just copy.
    1 person likes this.
  8. nubia
    Offline

    nubia Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Try tune sync in the market

    Sent from my DROID RAZR
  9. JohnnytheK
    Offline

    JohnnytheK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,363
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Just the yearly fee, no charge per song? Thanks!
  10. nubia
    Offline

    nubia Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Tunesync by highwind software llc... In the Android Market

    Sent from my DROID RAZR
  11. JohnnytheK
    Offline

    JohnnytheK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,363
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Huh? How? I get the cloud but my files are still protected?

    Sent from my DROID X2 using Tapatalk
  12. Deron
    Offline

    Deron New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Doesn't that only work on an Apple device? I don't know of any Android app that allows you to use the iTunes cloud. He'd have to buy an iPhone instead for that to work.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk
  13. JohnnytheK
    Offline

    JohnnytheK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,363
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Yep not sure it's doing me any good!?!

    Sent from my DROID X2 using Tapatalk
  14. tech_head
    Offline

    tech_head Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Western Hemisphere
    No, no, no.
    You use iTunes Match on you Mac/PC.
    Once the iTunes library is synced up. You remove/change the name of your local library and let it copy all your stuff from the cloud.
    Everything copied back will be DRM free and higher quality unless you used lossless compression to begin with.

    The just copy the files you want to your Android device.
    Other than that the only way is to "burn a CD" then re-import.
    1 person likes this.
  15. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,606
    Likes Received:
    820
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Or re-rip with a Windows based ripping tool such as Exact Audio Copy (EAC).
  16. Alphaman
    Offline

    Alphaman New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    St. Louis
    I haven't been able to rename the ITunes folder for some reason. ITunes must have forced something on user permissions? Even with admin priviledges, I can't rename? I was able to click on songs to download from cloud but it looks like it downloads in apple format and not mp3 as I have specified for saving of music files. If I'm missing something, please tell me.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
  17. tech_head
    Offline

    tech_head Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Western Hemisphere
    Not sure where your iTunes library is?
    I'm on a Mac and mine was under Music/iTunes.
    I created a new iTunes library in another place.
    I was also able to copy it to an ext eternal disc and use that.

    I just open iTune while holding the option key.
  18. Alphaman
    Offline

    Alphaman New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    St. Louis
    Can someone explain this in more detail on a Windows machine?

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
  19. rherron
    Offline

    rherron New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not exactly. If you encoded to any lossy format to begin with you'll be lossy forever, regardless of whatever file format you're re-encoding to. Once that data is gone, it's gone, and it ain't coming back. Burning an MP3 file (or AAC) back onto a CD may create a WAV file, for example, but it's just a bigger file with the exact same data in it. It doesn't restore anything lost when creating the MP3 (or AAC) to begin with. Once lossy, it can never be undone.
  20. tech_head
    Offline

    tech_head Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Western Hemisphere
    Actually, you are incorrect.
    If the files on iTunes match that are "matched" with what Apple already has you will be able to download in higher quality.

    You wil be able to download lossless from Apple after they have matched the file.
    if it was uploaded from your PC because Apple didn't find a match then you get what you ripped.

    Please read what I wrote.
Search tags for this page

copy protected itunes music to android

,
droid forum aac protected
,
droid razor app for itunes song files
,
how to get itunes music on motorola razr
,
how to get itunes on razr m
,
itunes to droid razr m
,
itunes to motorola razr m hd
,
itunes to razar m
,
itunes to razr m
,
putting itunes on razr m
,

spectral view

,

transfer music from itunes to droid razr m

,
transfer music from itunes to razr m
,
transfer music itunes motorola droid razr hd
,
transferring music to motorola droid razr m