Getting double txt messages

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by hellabooya, Mar 19, 2010.

  1. hellabooya

    hellabooya Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have been getting double text messages on almost every single txt that I receive while using jrummys koush rom. Anyone know why this would be happening? Its pretty annoying lol. I am using handcent if this helps.
     
  2. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    I would not think that the rom would cause that particular problem but I'm not positive. I use Handcent and have not have any duplicates.

    Mike
     
  3. hellabooya

    hellabooya Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    I havent had this problem on blackdroid or bugless beast so thats why I put the rom i was using in the op. If i cant figure this out ill probably just switch back to blackdroid, though ill miss the 3d app drawer.

    On that note is it possible to install the 3d app drawer from koush's rom to anyone elses rom?
     
  4. natediddy1120

    natediddy1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    ???
    Ratings:
    +0
    Go here and use the instructions posted under the screenshots. I would suggest using the instructions to use it as a /system app. Not from the Market. Just download it and follow the directions for the adb commands
     
  5. hellabooya

    hellabooya Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ive tried both the market and adb commands to install the helixlauncher2 and im just getting a black screen with constant fc's
     
  6. Ferradinho

    Ferradinho New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have had this same stupid proble and it is so annoying! I have used most of the roms at one point and have had it with all of them. I thought it was maybe my phone at one point but I just got a warranty replacement and am still having the double text issue.

    Anyone know why this is happening?
     
  7. Ferradinho

    Ferradinho New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have had this same stupid problem and it is so annoying! I have used most of the roms at one point and have had it happen with all of them since the first sholesmod. I thought it was maybe my phone at one point but I just got a warranty replacement and am still having the double text issue.

    Anyone know why this is happening?
     
  8. mjones1052

    mjones1052 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Philly
    Ratings:
    +0
    Blackdroids new v8 comes with a 3D launcher2 and the Helix Launcher2 works as well. It is really stable and I'm kinda impressed. Normally, I piece together other peoples stuff for my own use, but with this new v8 I didn't do very many modifications.
     
  9. hellabooya

    hellabooya Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just trying to bump this thread again, I still get double txt messages even though I have re downloaded handcent and now am using Blackdroid 8.0 (previously using koush's rom). It is quite irritating, so any ideas would be very helpful.
     
  10. flameboy

    flameboy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm a heavy texter, and this happens to me ALL the time. It has happened on every single rom I've used including the rom from the factory.

    Pretty sure it is a network issue with verizon. They are probably sending the text twice.
     
  11. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    This was a handcent problem for me. Switched to ChompSMS and haven't gotten a double text since.
     
  12. Riddick

    Riddick Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, it's a handcent bug, not the rom. Get rid of handcent and you shouldn't have the problem anymore. Or fix your messenger settings. Kind of funny that someone used a warranty for this problem and ended up with the same thing again.
     
  13. creamers

    creamers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you go to messages and settings and turn off notications you shouldnt get double messages anymore. Just turn on notifcations for the app you want to use.

    I use Handcent on Sg 6.0.1 works just fine it also worked just fine on Droidmod 1.0
     
  14. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    It's not a notification issue, it's a message issue.
     
  15. hellabooya

    hellabooya Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ya it is a Handcent issue because the default messanger is only getting one txt message while handcent is getting two sometimes three. Is there any other txt apps that split messages at 160 characters like handcent does? Its literally the only reason I use handcent.