Getting back to stock from damaged phone

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by fragfox, Jan 7, 2012.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. fragfox
    Offline

    fragfox New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi i have a droid 2 global thats running cyanogenmod and the power button is damaged (doesnt click and acts randomly , sometimes likes its always pressed in, sometimes like its being pressed over and over), im planning on taking it in to get replaced but I need to revert to stock, i have tried using rsd lite to do this but the powerbutton exits me out of the bootloader before i can do anything, does anyone know of a alternative way to do this?
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2012
  2. Gasai Yuno
    Offline

    Gasai Yuno Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rausu-cho
    Ratings:
    +0
    Take the battery out, then put it back in, hold the Up Arrow key on the physical keyboard and connect the charger. The phone will power up and go into the SBF loader.
  3. fragfox
    Offline

    fragfox New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have done that, before the usb drivers are even installed on the computer the phone reboots
  4. Gasai Yuno
    Offline

    Gasai Yuno Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rausu-cho
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well as long as your phone keeps shutting itself down due to that power button issue, you cannot do anything.
  5. fragfox
    Offline

    fragfox New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i can still used the phone just fine, i remapped the button in android and the recovery menu works fine its just the bootloader thats the problem
  6. Ghostv714
    Offline

    Ghostv714 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  7. Jonas
    Offline

    Jonas Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC
    Ratings:
    +15
    Take that bad boy apart is your only option it would seem. Or you can go with the insurance recovery and hope they can't fix the phone enough to know you altered it. Assuming you didn't change your boot logo, which I think cm7 does on its own.

    Sent from my Banana Phone