Getting all my Apps from AppBrain..yes or no?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by bgillyjcu, Aug 21, 2010.

  1. bgillyjcu
    Offline

    bgillyjcu New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    AppBrain looks amazing...I can preselect the apps I want to install on my X when I get it this week.

    The question is...is this a reputable place with safe apps (without Viruses).

    Or do most of you stick to downloading from the default android app marketplace?

    How many of you have used AppBrain?dancedroid
  2. harrellj
    Offline

    harrellj New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    LOVE appbrain and its fast web installer. Also, you'll notice that one of the news pieces is about a site facelift. In terms of downloading from it, I've noticed that it basically is a direct market link for an app but I can still only install what is available in the market.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  3. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Appbrain is safe.....
  4. bgillyjcu
    Offline

    bgillyjcu New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    Good to know because I have 19 apps ready and waiting the day my X gets here. Check out my list: bgillette79's Apps

    Let me know if there are any MUST HAVES that I've left off my list. Or let me know if I put any ones on my list that have been a headache.
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2010
  5. harrellj
    Offline

    harrellj New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    List looks good to me, big name apps there. One thing, since you have GV listed, do you have a GV account yet or are you going to sign up for one when you get the phone?

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  6. blacktimusprime
    Offline

    blacktimusprime New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    dirty jerz
    weatherbug is a battery killer be careful
  7. aaf709
    Offline

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,188
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal
    I have AppBrain and it seems to be pulling the stuff from the Market itself. It's a good way to have a list of your apps and you can change the list to show size or cost.

    That being said, I don't use it for uploads as it's slower than me using the QR code and downloading it myself.
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2010
  8. bgillyjcu
    Offline

    bgillyjcu New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    If no to weatherbug....is the weather channel app just as good, or better?
  9. idiotekniQues
    Offline

    idiotekniQues New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ive found weatherbug elite to be the best way to be able to check multiple cities with little battery loss, at least for thelast week.

    i disable gps, enable network location, and set update for every 4 hours. so far so good.
  10. Technoman
    Offline

    Technoman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas TX

    I have had WeatherBug Elite (paid version) for quite sometime now. It does not eat battery. I have never had WeatherBug even on my list for battery usage on my Droid 1.

    It works well, does not nag with crap notifications (but does provide decent notifications).

    If you want the best radar site (you need flash for animation - hence 2.2) then you should load up m.wund.com - Weather Underground. It has always been a favorite on my Blackberry.
  11. Gebo
    Offline

    Gebo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Probably operator error but I am one of those people who did have problems with Weatherbug Elite. I removed it and no more problems. Got it saved in Appbrain to reinstall after 2.2

    It ate up my battery life. I had it to update every hour. Or to state it more accurately, after uninstalling my battery life dramatically improved. It kept hanging up trying to load the data....
  12. FunN4Lo
    Offline

    FunN4Lo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Weather Chanel comes stock (on D1 anyway). It has great animated radar... no flash needed
  13. Technoman
    Offline

    Technoman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas TX

    Your comments would lead me to believe that the issue is related to your signal levels. Any app you have that is seeking to update will cause battery issues if it cannot get enough data to allow it to update. This would be due to data signal issues, not the app.
Search tags for this page
app brain safe
,
appbrain app is it safe
,
appbrain is it safe
,

appbrain safe

,
appbrain safe?
,
is app brain good
,
is app brain safe
,
is appbrain free
,
is appbrain good
,

is appbrain safe

,

is appbrain safe to use

,
is appbrain safe?
,
is appsbrain safe
,
is it safe to download apps from appbrain
,

what is appbrain