Get rid of motoblur

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Hacks' started by subaruwrx88011, Sep 14, 2011.

  1. subaruwrx88011

    subaruwrx88011 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Las Cruces, NM
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has anyone done this yet? Can I do it by rooting and deleting something?

    Leon
     
  2. Malvado

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +15
    You can't get rid of motoblur by simply rooting. Devs have to make a rom without the blur crap

    Sent from my Droid 3 directly to YOU!
     
  3. subaruwrx88011

    subaruwrx88011 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Las Cruces, NM
    Ratings:
    +0
    that what I was afraid of. I can't wait for a custom rom then.
     
  4. dparm

    dparm Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can hide a lot of Motoblur by rooting and removing some of the pre-installed software.

    I just installed a different Launcher (w/o) root to at least get a more "vanilla" appearance.
     
  5. jjbinks82

    jjbinks82 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yo

    Sent from my GT-P7510 using DroidForums
     
  6. jjbinks82

    jjbinks82 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yo! I'm still relatively new to Droids. With that said what's "motoblur"?

    Sent from my Gspacy Tab 10.1 using DroidForums
     
  7. dparm

    dparm Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Motoblur is the custom "skin" applied onto Android by Motorola. Look at the Nexus S...same Android version as the Bionic (2.3.x) but it has no custom theme applied. It is called "vanilla". Different icons, different widgets, different launcher.


    [​IMG]
     
  8. jjbinks82

    jjbinks82 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Unknown, ok, thanks! Can you change these skins???

    Sent from my GT-P7510 using DroidForums
     
  9. Malvado

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +15
    No. Htc's UI is the only one that haves themesas far as I know. Motoblur is just motoblur. You can however download home replacements and buy themes

    Sent from my Droid 3 directly to YOU!
     
  10. davishusband

    davishusband Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Northern Indiana
    Ratings:
    +1
    What's wrong with motoblur? why do people complain about it?:icon_ banana:dancedroid
     
  11. subaruwrx88011

    subaruwrx88011 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Las Cruces, NM
    Ratings:
    +0
    The thing I hate about motoblur is the different programs like the gallery and the camera. It is horrible. And I hate all the icons for contacts, the phone, etc. (thats just knit picky though).
    Really miss my OG Droid with vanilla on it, however the speed, size, etc on the Bionic is amazing.

    Leon
     
  12. tgyberg

    tgyberg Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,872
    Likes Received:
    263
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +266
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6, 7, & 9
    ^Soon there will be blurless roms for you to enjoy! Bionic Liberty comes to mind!
     
  13. skylinedrifter

    skylinedrifter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've been using LauncherPro from the moment I got the phone. It works flawlessly. I am sure other home replacements like ADW work well, also. I recommend trying those instead of altering the phone's preinstalled software.
     
  14. subaruwrx88011

    subaruwrx88011 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Las Cruces, NM
    Ratings:
    +0
    I used LauncherPro for a while on the Droid 2 Global I was borrowing. It is really good however doesn't fix the gallery and camera app problem for me anyways.
     
  15. tgyberg

    tgyberg Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,872
    Likes Received:
    263
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +266
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6, 7, & 9
    ^For the gallery, try Quicpic from the android market. It's awesome!
     
Search tags for this page
can i get rid of motoblur
,

get rid of motoblur

,
get rid of motorola blur
,

how to get rid of motoblur

,
how to get rid of motoblur droid x2
,
how to get rid of motoblur?
,
how to get rid of motorola blur
,
how to get rid of motorola blurr on a55 phone
,
how to get ride motoblur
,
motorola, motoblur