Geolocation problem

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Adrozz07, Nov 22, 2010.

  1. Adrozz07

    Adrozz07 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Recently I have been getting a notification saying that there is a google geolocation problem. Originally it started when i was using LFY 1.95 and still happening on Chevy 4.9. This has persisted through the ROM/theming changes so 8 have at least ruled those things out. Also, geo-sync toggling hasn't done anything to help. Any ideas?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  2. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Factory reset?
     
  3. Adrozz07

    Adrozz07 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was trying to maybe explore a few other options before going through the wipe and reroot process.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  4. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Can't blame you for that. I wonder if you deleted the Maps and reinstalled if that may correct? Or clear the cache on the Maps and location apps. I've not run LFY but dos it require you to install the gapps update? If so, reinstall.

    Let us know how you resolve.

    Mike
     
  5. Adrozz07

    Adrozz07 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Among the things i'm trying I was curious about the *228 system update. Ive never had the need for the standard dial-in update code. Will doing that now force an unroot or is my system isolated just like with the OTAs?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  6. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Dialing *228 will do neither. It updates you PRL (roaming).

    Mike
     
  7. Adrozz07

    Adrozz07 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I believe i have isolated the problem to the Google weather service via Beautiful Widgets. I wasnt aware that it had reverted back to Google as I typically use Accuweather. The good news is its not a system problem, merely a Google problem. -_-...........bad google.......bad.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
Search tags for this page
android+clear+cached geolocation
,
galaxy s3 geolocation problem
,
geolocation cache android
,
geolocation error with samsung s3
,
geolocation not working in galaxy s3
,

geolocation problem

,
geolocation problem s3
,
htc geolocation problem
,
problem z geolokalizacja
,
verizon geo locator htc incredible