general questions

KSUgirl

Reaction score
Hi all. I am new to Droid (as of today) and very new to this forum, as well, so sorry if I'm repeating typical annoying questions.

First off, my brother warned me about the data/battery usage and told me to get the task killer, which I did... but more open up right away, why is that? is it normal?

He also said his Droid won't fully charge unless it's hooked up to a PC, normal?

Also, I have tried numerous times to set up my standard google email account. I keep getting errors, I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong?

And, on the Facebook app, when I tried to view my notifications I get an error every time saying; "cannot retrieve notifications. Please try again later"... I suppose this could be a Facebook error?

And lastly, I just want to make sure I'm thinking about this correctly.. my brother told me you can't actually CLOSE the tasks, hence the need for the task killer app. Is this true? They're just gonna keep running and running and suck up my battery no matter what I do?

Thanks in advance for any help. :)

DF Smod

Silver Member
Reaction score
First :welcome: to the Forum

Second:

I hate to break the news, but your brother is wrong, task killers will waste your battery and cause performance issues within your system. Android has a very effective Task Managment process built right in and any third party app that claims to do the same just causes problems

Apps in Android aren't actually running in the background, they are frozen until you open it again, my best advice is to uninstall all task killers and let Android do it's job

And lastly, you will never get a better charge than you will from the factory OEM wall charger :)

guidot

Developer Relations
Staff member
Premium Member
Reaction score
Unless there is something wrong with the charger I see no reason that it would only charge through the PC. It will also take forever that way.

OP
K

KSUgirl

Reaction score
First :welcome: to the Forum

Second: