General Questions.

Discussion in 'Samsung Droid Charge' started by potterdood, May 15, 2011.

  1. potterdood
    Offline

    potterdood New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Let's see if I can remember them all. To start off I've had the Incredible since launch day, but I couldn't pass on this phone, I am a huge fan of the Samoled screens. I got it on Saturday morning. Activated and did the gmail, it put my contacts in, but then I went through all the setup and put my aim, yahoo, twitter, and windows live id's in the Charge. Then I look and all of my google contacts are gone but it added the yahoo etc...so I delete them and can't figure out how to get my google contacts back on without restoring phone to stock. So I restored it and got the contacts back, made a Vcard from my Incredibles contacts, bc google won't put the contacts on my phone anymore. Now I have my contacts, but on some of them the facebook accounts didn't sync, how do I manually get them to sync? I had netflix on my Inc for a few days and now I got the Charge and it won't work, hope they get that working soon! I love the phone, and although I'm a huge fan of HTC, Samsung did a great job, I wish it had more internal memory, BUT you can't have your cake and eat it too lol. Hope y'all take the time to read and give me some feedback. I appreciate it in advance. Also, I can't get my facebook to sync the calendar with my calendar on my phone. I have some contacts that aren't showing the facebook pix and I want to manually add them like I did on my Inc, is there a way? I feel like a noob all over again, lol. Please help.
  2. Droid101
    Offline

    Droid101 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York State
    As far as gmail contacts and facebook events have you went into settings and then account and sync and make sure contacts is checked under your gmail account for sync? Same for the facebook account?
  3. devinhfox
    Offline

    devinhfox New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Led notification?
  4. Droid101
    Offline

    Droid101 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York State

    There is no LED notification but you can download an app called NOLED and it should be sufficient enough
  5. potterdood
    Offline

    potterdood New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah my gmail things are checked and so are my facebook ones. I'm not sure if it's a bug or what, but I never had this happen on my Incredible. I even tried using Launcher Pro and doing the calendar and same thing happened. BUT it will sync events that I have on fbook, just not bdays.
  6. Droid101
    Offline

    Droid101 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York State
    Um not sure only other thing id say is either facebook doesn't support this anymore or try a factory reset and start from scratch.
  7. potterdood
    Offline

    potterdood New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I did that the 1st day I had it bc I thought I had done something wrong. Not sure if I mentioned it but I did figure out how to manually sync some contacts to fbook.
  8. larsonage
    Offline

    larsonage New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Does the Charge have a locked bootloader?
  9. devinhfox
    Offline

    devinhfox New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Went to testdrive the charge today. My thoughts:
    Screen looks really nice. Colors are super vibrant, TOO saturated I think. The screen was crying out for a higher resolution.
    My only real complaint is the buttons area near the bottom. The buttons feel ok, but there is a half inch gap between the buttons and the bottom of the screen. It's used of course as an area for samsung to place their name. Really annoying, as I'm used to the d1 and d2, which have a very small gap, maybe 1/8 inch with no logo/name between the soft buttons and screen.



    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
  10. oresteez
    Offline

    oresteez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    I love the buttons and i love the gap between the screen and the buttons...there's zero chance of ever hitting a button by accident...
    I hate when I accidentally hit a back button or a home button on my D1 when I'm in a game or some other program....
  11. devinhfox
    Offline

    devinhfox New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Cant say thats ever happened to me.
    I dont game though, and I'm pretty accurate with my fingers for the most part.

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
  12. oresteez
    Offline

    oresteez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    like all the time for me...maybe the bigger screen will lessen the chance also...but physical buttons should eliminate it , haha :)
  13. potterdood
    Offline

    potterdood New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yeah I've definitely hit the back and search buttons on accident before when swyping and theres no chance of that happening now, I work at Verizon and can easily sell this phone against any other phone, including the i*hone. I like it a lot, but my bdays still aren't syncing, and has anyone tried using their $25 credit toward the Samsung Media Hub? I got the code to work, but then I bought a movie and it won't download...
  14. Droid101
    Offline

    Droid101 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York State
    Yeah Im having the same issue with the media hub. I got one show to work but the rest dont seem to work appears to be hit or miss.
  15. devinhfox
    Offline

    devinhfox New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Damn dude, maybe you should up your ritalin dose.
    Kids these days, lol. Just sayin.
    must LOVE the fact they put a samsung logo right there for you to look at.
  16. potterdood
    Offline

    potterdood New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah Im having the same issue with the media hub. I got one show to work but the rest dont seem to work appears to be hit or miss.[/QUOTE]

    Ok, so I just went back into the media hub and tried to download the movie I bought and it's working now, and it's going super fast! It started about 3 min ago and it's already downloaded 260mb/936mb!
  17. Droid101
    Offline

    Droid101 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York State
    Ok, so I just went back into the media hub and tried to download the movie I bought and it's working now, and it's going super fast! It started about 3 min ago and it's already downloaded 260mb/936mb![/QUOTE]

    yeah all mine started working again. Im thinking it could just be that their servers are being overloaded.
  18. potterdood
    Offline

    potterdood New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    & I got on with Samsung support and they couldn't help me figure out why my calendar isn't syncing with fbook birthdays, it's not a big deal, but I like keeping up with the bdays.
  19. Redflea
    Offline

    Redflea New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,954
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was told by a Verizon guy in a Costco kiosk that the boot loader is unlocked (he owns one, and has rooted it already)...true?
  20. Droid101
    Offline

    Droid101 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York State
    This is true the bootloader is unlocked and root has been achieved. Sometime in the next few weeks we might see custom ROM for it and some type of recovery.