General Question about installing a new Rom. (Newbie Here)

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by thernohn, Mar 22, 2010.

1. thernohn

thernohn New Member

Hello All,

I am new to these forums and am excited to learn more about my phone. I have a few questions that I was hoping could clarify some things for me.

I am currently using a Motorola droid that I purchased from Verizon, which is also my service provider.

First off, I have already completed the process of rooting my phone and read about the various forms of system backup. I ended up using SPRecovery as the majority of help thread point to this as these backup to use. I am using 0.99.3b currently.

I performed my first Rom install today and I decided to go with ultimatedroidv8.

1) I don’t understand the 3 versions. (ultimatedroidv8, ultimatedroidv8cw, and newudv8-update.zip,) i ended up installing the ultimatedroidv8.

2) I don’t understand the 2.1 vs. 2.0.1. I take it that its the OS update but isn’t the ROM basically an OS? I am confused in that do ROM only function on 2.1 or 2.0.1 and if so how do I get the 2.1 to update to?

3) When I installed ultimate droid 3 things happened.
    1- I lost my contacts (is there a way to get them back?)
    2- I lose my verizon service (is this normal and how do I get reconnected)
    3- I lost all my saved text messages (which I assume was due to me losing Verizon service but I don’t know? (will this always happen?)

4) Many of the people who posts a screenshot of their phone has an awesome looking clock which shows the weather (which clouds and stuff) but I can’t seem to find how to edit my clock.

Anyone who would be awesome enough to take the time to answer these questions would really make my day. Thank you for your time and I look forward to your responses.

-Chris
  2. justin82

justin82 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

Ok lets try this

there are normally 2 types of update now there are 3