General OS Lag loading homescreen and using droid

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by endoftheline, Jan 1, 2011.

  1. Brandonovich

    Brandonovich Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you not rooted and overclocked you are missing out! That combined with Launcher Pro and my original droid runs like a champ!
     
  2. joshoid

    joshoid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use Advanced Task Manager (Available in android market) to manage and auto kill running apps. This can be used on unrooted phones and may help with your lag. I also run auto killer but this is only available if your phone is rooted.
     
  3. CJM

    CJM Super Moderator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10,594
    Likes Received:
    1,668
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +1,810
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Twitter:
    https://twitter.com/Corey
  4. ralphtrent

    ralphtrent Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I may be on to something

    I posted this on another forum android yesterday. You may want to consider this.

     
  5. CJM

    CJM Super Moderator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10,594
    Likes Received:
    1,668
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +1,810
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Twitter:
    https://twitter.com/Corey
    I think you are on to something. This does help(rooted or stock). Another one of our members, DROIDDOES, posted an explanation but I couldnt find it to re-post it here. And I couldnt remember what he said well enough to post it. But this does help with the redraws. I've been using the back button method for about a week and have seen a lot less redraws. It takes less time to back out of an app than to wait for the screen to redraw.
     
  6. D1motoBRICE

    D1motoBRICE New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there a fix similar that works NOT using launcherpro? I quit using launcherpro about a week ago and does the same lag on both stock and LP.
     
  7. Brandonovich

    Brandonovich Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you rooted and over clocked?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  8. D1motoBRICE

    D1motoBRICE New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah have min set at 400 and max 1000
     
  9. jleeusa

    jleeusa Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Carlsbad, Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    On rooted droid1 I have had the problem too. I have been recently trying to back out of apps rather than home button abd have some success. Another thing I have tried is to occasionally clear cache at the recivery screen, SEEMS to be working. I am not wise enough to know why these methods have been working, but they have for me. Good luck.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  10. Brandonovich

    Brandonovich Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Back your top speed down to 900 When I first over clocked I found that 1000 was to o much

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  11. xdxdaustinxdxd

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Irony^^!!!
     
  12. D1motoBRICE

    D1motoBRICE New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Flashed cyanogenmod I think its 6.1.2 and bam gone. I can press home from any app zero lag. Even sliding the keybord works great turning the homescreen. I've tried to make it lag. I was skeptic on changing the kernel but flashed slayer and this thing is unstopable.