GB & Rooting

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by jbhuskers, Jun 6, 2011.

  1. jbhuskers
    Offline

    jbhuskers New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So some people are saying that rooting may not be possible with OTA GB. Is that due to tighter security measures that were put in? I'm not looking to do the SBF route to rooting, I'll just stay unrooted until something like Z4 Root works.
  2. droidkm
    Offline

    droidkm New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    every time a new software version is put out, they fix whatever exploit allowed the previous version to be rooted. the new version can probably be directly rooted as well, but it takes time and effort, and that time and effort is a waste when the software can already be rooted via the previous version. so after a while z4root might be able to root the OTA, but given there is very little incentive for people to do this, it may be a while or not happen at all.
  3. jbhuskers
    Offline

    jbhuskers New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Granted I do have some SBF experience after bricking my phone, but Z4 Root worked so well for me. I'm living without it now as I just used it for screen capture, overclocking, and cache cleaning.
  4. huskur
    Offline

    huskur Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,867
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lower Delaware
    I used Z4root as well to root. I also currently run the OTA GB. I used root though for tethering purposes mostly. A new exploit will be found and we will gain root access once again. Just a matter of time. It's GB in general we are waiting root for not for a particular phone so that is a good sign.

    If all else fails and you/ I / we need root access all you have to do is SBF back to stock and load a rooted version of GB. 20 to 30 minute process. I personally will wait. I would rather have the OTA with root access simply for the clean install and genuinuity.

    GO BIG RED!!!
  5. jbhuskers
    Offline

    jbhuskers New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah that is what I'm more leaning too as well, OTA with root access.
  6. CD95YJ
    Offline

    CD95YJ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    You do realize that the ota and the TBH version of gb are identical aside from root?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  7. cjriddle22
    Offline

    cjriddle22 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    the Ville
    As mentioned above, on p3droid's thread about the rooted version, and his tweets, this version IS the OTA with root access, same exact system version, not a leak. It is exactly what you are looking for. This might be the only way GB is ever rooted. Lots of the devs have said there is no point in rooting the OTA when you can install a pre-rooted OTA. It is essentially looking for what you already have.
  8. sfreemanoh
    Offline

    sfreemanoh New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    How about to get future updates? Just having root, and nothing else, has prevented people from getting OTA updates before. Unless if I'm imagining that...
  9. jbhuskers
    Offline

    jbhuskers New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Here's my attempt as a newb to answer a question and apply what I've learned.

    Basically you'd have to flash the stock ROM back onto your phone once an OTA is released, unless this rooted GB allows for OTA updates.
  10. sfreemanoh
    Offline

    sfreemanoh New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Well yeah, that's kind of my point though...having a .596 SBF file would be a LOT faster than SBF'ing back to 2.3.340, then getting the OTA to GB. Granted, a lot of people who root won't care about going back to unrooted stock...however, a big reason to have it available as an option is in case if you need to bring the phone into VZ, so they don't see your phone rooted/ROM'd and make a note in your account.
  11. cjriddle22
    Offline

    cjriddle22 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    the Ville
    I've also heard this but p3droid said that it would not prevent future OTA updates though. I had no problem updating Froyo way back while I was rooted. I did however SBF to Froyo to install GB, but I was rooted b/c I installed the rooted version of GB. Even if it does affect the update process, there will be plenty of ways to get you the most up-to-date software, this forum will not let you fail.
  12. cjriddle22
    Offline

    cjriddle22 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    the Ville
    There is a SBF for official unrooted GB. It was released late last week. Download and add it to your Droid X files. I don't ever plan on using it b/c it is the unrooted version, but like you said, it is nice to have, just in case.

    DROIDX Gingerbread (4.5.596) SBF File Released - Droid Life: A Droid Community Blog
  13. jbhuskers
    Offline

    jbhuskers New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For me, I was counting on Z4 Root or something similar to do the root and was going to be paitent to wait for it.

    But now after getting stuck in bootloader, I'm very familiar with more of the processes right now.

    Also, I had previously made the mistake of deleting stock apps (Madden, Skype, etc.) so I had to get to stock first before I went to standard GB.
  14. debrad0307
    Offline

    debrad0307 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    I am so glad that I decided to stick with liberty gingerbread. I'm rooted but most importantly I don't have to go through the whole SBF process :)

    Tappin and talkin on my DROIDX
  15. asteDroidx
    Offline

    asteDroidx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Missoula, Montana
    I had my droid x rooted and the other day i installed the system update like a retard, can someone help me figure out how to re root? Im new to all this so im in need of a little help. I have the Z4 Mod app and tried the temporary root but it wouldnt go past the exploit screen. Before i did the update i had my phone clocked at 1300 mhz and after the update was installed my root was removed and i couldnt access my cpu settings w/o a root. Now my phone is stuck at 1300 mhz and its screwing alot up, frozen screens, tons of force closes, etc please help
  16. jbhuskers
    Offline

    jbhuskers New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You'll have to do the post quoted above. You can't root OTA GB at the moment (if ever).
  17. TheJester34
    Offline

    TheJester34 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dunlap, TN
    How did P3 root the leak? Maybe that would be of some use in rooting the OTA? Or overall would it be easier to just SBF to FroYo, upgrade to the leak, the SBF GB OTA if needed for updates and such? Main problem here is after you back up everything and SBF, if you can't get root back you can't restore things. I would think looking at how P3 did it and trying to apply it to something like Z4 would be the best bet to rooting the OTA
  18. cjriddle22
    Offline

    cjriddle22 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    the Ville
    The rooted version of GB that you are referring to is the official build (.596). Same as the OTA version, not a leak. I am not sure how he obtained root, but we know it includes breaking .596 into two zip files. It has something to do with the second file, some exploit he created by breaking it up, and when you put them together the exploit doesn't work. At least that is my interpretation of it. He also said that this rooted version will not prevent future updates, so if you are only rooted (not missing any of the bloat), you should be able to update. We won't actually know until another update comes out, but that is why we have the GB SBF, just in case.
  19. TheJester34
    Offline

    TheJester34 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dunlap, TN
    Gotcha. If it's the same as the OTA just rooted, no reason to wait for a rooting process it seems. Thanks for the answer
  20. Beka27
    Offline

    Beka27 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,467
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    Start to finish it takes between 30-60 minutes to revert back to stock 2.2, reroot, install the 2 (or 3) files for rooted GB. It's not that big of a deal. Much better IMO than waiting a few weeks (months?) to get a one-click method. Just do it now while there are still all these these threads floating around to help you out.