Gb .608 updates won't install

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by Feudalplague, Oct 18, 2011.

  1. Feudalplague
    Offline

    Feudalplague Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +0
    My update for .608 has failed about 5 times. I have had the device rooted. Unrooted, factory reset and normal twice. The update goes to about 10 percent and then goes back to that droid with the triangle warning thing and then reboots on me. Sending me back to my froyo. I'm currently unrooted without my SD card in cause it could be something interfering with the update on my SD
    I have all bloatware on the phone still and never froze or removed anything period.. I just want this fixed. Sooo any help is appreciated

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
     
  2. silver6054
    Offline

    silver6054 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Did you install bootstrap ever?
     
  3. jason11ac
    Offline

    jason11ac New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi. Im having the same problem. It downloads the update, then installs about 10% and reboots back to froyo. I once installed bootstrap but it never actually worked for me so I uninstalled it.
    Please help if you know how to fix this.

    sent from my droid 2 global
     
  4. Gasai Yuno
    Offline

    Gasai Yuno Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rausu-cho
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you are on Froyo, and you installed D2 Recovery Bootstrap at any time and used its “Bootstrap recovery” option, your /system is altered and the update won't install. You need to restore the logwrapper binary. There are a lot of posts in this forum about this exact same problem when people were updating to 4.5.607.
     
  5. bwild
    Offline

    bwild New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm actually having the same problem.
    I spent the whole day trying to get the update to install, but everything I've tried so far has failed.

    I unfroze all frozen apps
    I completely removed bootstrap, deleted hijack, logwrapper, and restored the original logwrapper and unrooted.
    I also tried a factory reset after unrooting/bootstrapping/unfreezing, but it still hasn't worked.

    I've never flashed anything, so if possible, I'd like to avoid SBF'ing since I'm not at all familiar with it.
    Any other ideas out there?
     
  6. Gasai Yuno
    Offline

    Gasai Yuno Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rausu-cho
    Ratings:
    +0
    Get the 4.5.607 standalone update, put it into the root of your SD card as update.zip, and try installing it via stock recovery.

    Post the error it gives you.
     
  7. lwags67
    Offline

    lwags67 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Just curious, why is it necessary to rename to update.zip rather than leave the file name as is? Is the name update.zip critical to success in installing?
     
  8. silver6054
    Offline

    silver6054 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Doesn't Froyo stock recovery only allow update.zip as an option (in GB it appears you can choose the file)
     
  9. Gasai Yuno
    Offline

    Gasai Yuno Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rausu-cho
    Ratings:
    +0
    silver6054 is correct. Froyo's stock recovery can only use /update.zip.
     
  10. lwags67
    Offline

    lwags67 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    --install /sdcard ...
    Finding update package...
    Opening update package...
    Verifying update package...
    Installing update...
    Verifying current system...
    assert failed: apply_patch_check("/system/app/cardock.apk"."ba445d3e295457d9f8f4c48550e3c7fb8a68369","6a6427898e31610e41b107c75f8eaf2c20eceba2")
    E:Error in /tmp/sideload/package.zip
    (Status 7)
    Installation aborted.

    Looks like, in part, I need to install again CarDock.
     
  11. Feudalplague
    Offline

    Feudalplague Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea i have but i did do the root editor thing to remove it so i could install and it still never works
     
  12. Feudalplague
    Offline

    Feudalplague Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +0
    well i guess im just going to sbf for a clean install. its kind of annoying but whatever
     
  13. silver6054
    Offline

    silver6054 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Or do the manual load and see what the error message says.
     
  14. lwags67
    Offline

    lwags67 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    It looks like Cardock.apk is on the SD card. How do I move to system/app? What program can I use to do this? Don't seem to see the root directory in windows explorer.
     
  15. silver6054
    Offline

    silver6054 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Do it on the phone. Do you have an app like Root Explorer on the phone?
     
Search tags for this page

lawmo

,

lawmo lock 1234

,

lawmo(1234)