GB 3g Workaround

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by betolley, Jan 15, 2011.

  1. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,451
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    It seems it does have to be restarted after you power down/up your device
     
  2. aamzalag

    aamzalag Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    betolley as i understand u made this apk, so i have a slight problem. i installed it like normal, and i run it fine when i boot my phone, but after about 2 hours it force closes on me multiple times and then diesa nd i have to start it up again. Any1 else have this issue? maybe u can help me fix it?
     
  3. Sandso9

    Sandso9 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    yea ive had a couple fc as well
     
  4. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    3rd rock
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmm, several posts back someone mentioned that they made a Tasker task to handle the same thing.

    Then, we should be able to make one for timerrific and Locale as well, saving the need to yet another app running in the background lol.

    I realize that most people are going to give me heck for this, b/c they have plenty of space to run all sorts of apps - but my D1 is chock full of apps and I already have a lot of autostarting services, and since I already have Locale running for over a year now, it'd be pointless to do this as a separate app. Plus, Locale / Tasker / Timerrific already run at boot, so there is that aspect of 'set it and forget it."

    I'm going to take a closer look at the Tasker thingy and see if I can get it working in Locale.

    Thanks, betolley, for making this in the first place, to get the ball rolling for a work around.
     
  5. BrianHanifin

    BrianHanifin New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tasker "End Call" Profile Info

    The Tasker profile is nice because it always runs at startup, and I have never had Tasker force closed.

    PROFILE
    Event > Phone > Phone Idle

    TASK
    Net > Airplane Mode ON
    Tasker > Wait 10 seconds
    Net > Airplane Mode OFF​

    Theoretically you could toggle "Net > Mobile Data" / "Net > Mobile Data APN". However, the former only works with CDMA and the latter only works with GSM. So I used Airplane mode as it is more universal, and betolly already proved that method works. Hopefully this information will help you experiment with solutions with alternate profile managers. :)
     
  6. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    3rd rock
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bingo.

    Now I just need to figure out how to make Locale determine the condition of having just ended a phone call.

    Anyone tested to see if this causes all sorts of stupidity if you have 2 calls going (via call waiting) and you end one call but are still on another call after the first ends?

    Just curious. At first glance the phone.idle even should prevent this, but it would not surprise me if the phone.idle even was called on accident after ending one call while the other is still active - after all, I have hung up before and then my phone starts ringing and it re-connects me to the original call...
     
  7. BrianHanifin

    BrianHanifin New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    That is a good question which is tricky to test. I just posed this question on the Tasker forum, I will try to post the answer when I get it. But I do agree that "Phone Idle" sounds like the phone radio would have to be completely idle before this event would fire.
     
  8. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    3rd rock
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good to know. Hopefully, it is as you surmise.
     
  9. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    3rd rock
    Ratings:
    +0
    And testing over here would be easy - if I had Tasker installed lol. I have 4 different lines I can call my phone from, so....
     
  10. betolley

    betolley Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Restore State

    I looked at this tonight. I used it all day today. The only time it happened was when my phone was asleep(for a long amount of time) and android stopped the task. When I woke the phone up the service crashed when the os tried to resume the state without the gui. Anyone else can you say what you were doing when you had the crash?
     
  11. Fail Tactics

    Fail Tactics Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Federal Way, Washington
    Ratings:
    +0
    This link doesn't work, reupload it please. I need a working camera. I wouldn't have installed jeff's latest build if he had not said the camera worked - when it doesn't.
     
  12. BrianHanifin

    BrianHanifin New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    CyanogenMod is officially releasing nightly builds on par with Jeff's releases. Build #3 is current as of this moment and can be downloaded with ROM Manager or at the following URL.

    TeamDouche Mirror System

    And the current Gapps can be downloaded manually here.
    gapps-gb-20110115-signed.zip is the current release as of now.

    Index of /gapps/
     
Search tags for this page

tasker phone idle

,
tasker switch to 3g