1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

GAPPs file? what i is a gapps file and how do you install it?

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Roms' started by eap369, Feb 29, 2012.

  1. eap369
    Offline

    eap369 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    southern cali
    what i is a gapps file and how do you install it?
    i saw on a thread someone updated a rom and used a differernt persons gapps file then the original rom. but whats gapps?
  2. hawknest
    Offline

    hawknest New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Google apps

    Sent from my ADR6350 using Tapatalk
  3. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,933
    Likes Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Typically you flash it with a ROM so you have working Google apps such as the market and several other things but not all ROMs require them.

    To install one you boot into recovery flash the ROM, then flash the GAPPS file before leaving recovery, and then you just boot up the phone normally.
  4. 2THEXTRM
    Offline

    2THEXTRM Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Central New York
    FYI- I downloaded a 02242012 GAPPS version today off goo-inside.me

    Sent from my AXI0M AOKP using DroidForums
  5. eap369
    Offline

    eap369 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    southern cali
    thanks for the replies so im guessing u would usually only install them on an alpha rom that might need it right?
  6. eap369
    Offline

    eap369 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    southern cali


    thanks im trying this now
  7. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,933
    Likes Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Does not matter the stage of the ROM, could be alpha, beta, or final. It is all about whether the dev of the ROM includes them in the actual ROM file or decides to do them in the separate GAPPS flash.
  8. 2THEXTRM
    Offline

    2THEXTRM Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Central New York
    should be able to flash any new gapp zip files on ROM after cache and Davlik cache I would think?

    Sent from my AXI0M AOKP using DroidForums
  9. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,933
    Likes Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    I never really flash any GAPPS besides what the dev recommends or pairs with the ROM but I guess it couldn't hurt. I would make sure none of the apps in the GAPPS that were already present did not have any updates installed, that would probably mess up the flash.
  10. eap369
    Offline

    eap369 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    southern cali
    ok thanks for clearing that up for me. but im installing a new rom for my bionic after i flash the rom and play around with it can i still go back into recovery and flash a gapps file after? or does it have to be at the same time?
  11. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,933
    Likes Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    You can but if you don't flash GAPPS you wont have the market, you won't be able to log into your account, and in some cases things like the home button won't work because it is tied to a certain app (I don't know which one).
  12. eap369
    Offline

    eap369 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    southern cali
    OK good to know thanks again appreciate it


    Sent from my AXI0M AOKP using DroidForums
  13. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,933
    Likes Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    No problem!
Search tags for this page

gapps file

,
what are gapps
,

what are gapps android

,
what are gapps files
,
what are gapps for android
,
what are the gapps
,

what does gapps do

,
what is a gapp
,
what is a gapps file
,
what is android gapps
,

what is gapps

,

what is gapps android

,

what is gapps for android

,
what is gapps in android
,
what is gapps?