GAPPs file? what i is a gapps file and how do you install it?

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Roms' started by eap369, Feb 29, 2012.

  1. eap369

    eap369 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    southern cali
    Ratings:
    +0
    what i is a gapps file and how do you install it?
    i saw on a thread someone updated a rom and used a differernt persons gapps file then the original rom. but whats gapps?
     
  2. hawknest

    hawknest Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Google apps

    Sent from my ADR6350 using Tapatalk
     
  3. JSM9872

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,923
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Typically you flash it with a ROM so you have working Google apps such as the market and several other things but not all ROMs require them.

    To install one you boot into recovery flash the ROM, then flash the GAPPS file before leaving recovery, and then you just boot up the phone normally.
     
  4. 2THEXTRM

    2THEXTRM Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +6
    FYI- I downloaded a 02242012 GAPPS version today off goo-inside.me

    Sent from my AXI0M AOKP using DroidForums
     
  5. eap369

    eap369 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    southern cali
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the replies so im guessing u would usually only install them on an alpha rom that might need it right?
     
  6. eap369

    eap369 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    southern cali
    Ratings:
    +0


    thanks im trying this now
     
  7. JSM9872

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,923
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Does not matter the stage of the ROM, could be alpha, beta, or final. It is all about whether the dev of the ROM includes them in the actual ROM file or decides to do them in the separate GAPPS flash.
     
  8. 2THEXTRM

    2THEXTRM Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +6
    should be able to flash any new gapp zip files on ROM after cache and Davlik cache I would think?

    Sent from my AXI0M AOKP using DroidForums
     
  9. JSM9872

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,923
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    I never really flash any GAPPS besides what the dev recommends or pairs with the ROM but I guess it couldn't hurt. I would make sure none of the apps in the GAPPS that were already present did not have any updates installed, that would probably mess up the flash.
     
  10. eap369

    eap369 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    southern cali
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok thanks for clearing that up for me. but im installing a new rom for my bionic after i flash the rom and play around with it can i still go back into recovery and flash a gapps file after? or does it have to be at the same time?
     
  11. JSM9872

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,923
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    You can but if you don't flash GAPPS you wont have the market, you won't be able to log into your account, and in some cases things like the home button won't work because it is tied to a certain app (I don't know which one).
     
  12. eap369

    eap369 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    southern cali
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK good to know thanks again appreciate it


    Sent from my AXI0M AOKP using DroidForums
     
  13. JSM9872

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,923
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    No problem!
     
Search tags for this page
gapps file
,
what are gapps
,

what are gapps android

,
what does gapps do
,
what is a gapps file
,
what is android gapps
,

what is gapps

,

what is gapps android

,

what is gapps for android

,
what is gapps in android