Galaxy S3

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy S3' started by mofoliar, Sep 6, 2012.

  1. mofoliar
    Offline

    mofoliar New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Paradise,ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, i called verizon tech support this afternoon, to ask him bout the issues with S3, and he told me he was not finding any known issues!(which i know thats not true, read the forums) I am getting no voice on the phone after 10minute call... while it still says connected! i am wondering anyone else use a extender? R they worth it? I pretty much use my cell for home use too...
     
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2012
  2. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,287
    Likes Received:
    1,566
    Trophy Points:
    958
    Ratings:
    +1,599
    Are you having any other issues?
    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
     
  3. mofoliar
    Offline

    mofoliar New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Paradise,ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah just bad reception call the way around... I just wonder if there will be a firmware update ota coming for this or is it just sammy poor radio issues (all over again,another Gnex again)!
     
  4. rontot
    Offline

    rontot New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use an extender, it helps a lot. The newer ones have data also, mine only voice.

    I flashed the newer firmware, but can't say it helped, all my radios kinda suck to. Flashed back again.
     
  5. mofoliar
    Offline

    mofoliar New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Paradise,ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well maybe i will try one... They offered to give me $100 off reg. price!I really dont want to give up the S3 but i cant stand the connection issues... I get bout -97 DB at my house and my GF Razr gets -90 or tad less.. thats at my house mainly where i am at.. How does the extender do on your internet? does it bog it down a whole lot? I have comcast 25MBPS down
     
  6. JBassRN
    Offline

    JBassRN New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have an extender as well. I don't notice any difference to my other computers on the network. I did improve my cell signal. Been very happy.
     
  7. mofoliar
    Offline

    mofoliar New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Paradise,ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    thx guys for the imput, I think i will go and pick 1 up c how that works for me... Oh yeah does the extender do 4G or just 3G?
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2012
  8. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,287
    Likes Received:
    1,566
    Trophy Points:
    958
    Ratings:
    +1,599
    Is the issue your s3 or the area you are in. I ask because I am using this information to decide what will be my next device.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
     
  9. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,287
    Likes Received:
    1,566
    Trophy Points:
    958
    Ratings:
    +1,599
    During that was you unable to use your data. I ask because had that happen on my att s3 and was unable to make calls or data for 20 minutes. By that time i had already called vzw on a land line to turn my phone back on.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
     
  10. mofoliar
    Offline

    mofoliar New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Paradise,ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am in a good area at my house.. Some times i loose network connection then it comes back on... I get often! I did ask my friend S. cal he has the same on ATT as well. but he said no issues noted, so that makes me believe that it could be my S3.. I am gonna give the extender a try... I still have until Oct. 23rd to exchange for another S3 or another phone! I bout -102 to -96 DB to where my GF Razr is bout -90 to -83 DB at my house..
     
  11. skennelly
    Offline

    skennelly Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Illinois
    Ratings:
    +29
    Please give us an update on what your db is after installing the extender.

    Sent from my SCH-I535
     
  12. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,287
    Likes Received:
    1,566
    Trophy Points:
    958
    Ratings:
    +1,599
    I might recommend a swap because the s3 i was playing with at the store was getting the same dbm as my nexus. The razr maxx got the best with - 70 but the s3 smoked both the nexus and razr in a speed test.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
     
  13. mofoliar
    Offline

    mofoliar New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Paradise,ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok i will update all... I might go get an exchange 1st before extender...
     
  14. dra868
    Offline

    dra868 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    FYI, Verizon's range extender does not boost signal but is voip for your cell phone. It just re-routes your calls using your isp. I was having the same problem as the op and talked Verizon into sending me one for free. It has improved making and receiving calls for most of my home.
     
  15. cybertec69
    Offline

    cybertec69 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,852
    Likes Received:
    112
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    Ratings:
    +113
    Why don't you have them change your SIM card, it might help.
     
Search tags for this page
galaxy s3 improve signal how to
,
galaxy s3 improving g4 reception
,
get a better signal on galaxy s3
,

getting better reception on samsung s3

,
how to enhance cell reception on a verizon samsung galaxy s3
,
how to improve reception on my galaxy 3 with verizon
,
how to strengthen verizon signal samsung galaxy s3
,
howmto improve network ssignal on verizon galaxy s3
,
improve cell reception on galaxy s3
,
sprint galaxy s4 poor voice reception