Galaxy S3 SIM card question

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy S3' started by cybertec69, Jul 10, 2012.

  1. cybertec69

    cybertec69 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,853
    Likes Received:
    112
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    Ratings:
    +113
    Anyone here upgrade from the HTC Rezound and use the same Sim card from Rezound in the S3. I know it comes with a new SIM card, but was wondering if I can use the same one that is in my Rezound.
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2012
  2. kparks

    kparks Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,465
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +8
    Yes u can u use the old one from the rezound if its the micro sim
     
  3. bsweetness

    bsweetness Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,748
    Likes Received:
    325
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Ratings:
    +340
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 4
    The S3 uses a micro SIM. The Rezound uses a standard SIM. You'll have to cut the the standard SIM to make it fit in the S3's micro SIM slot. Using something like this cutter is the easiest way. It also comes with adapters to use a micro SIM in a standard SIM slot if you to go back to the Rezound (or get a different phone that takes the standard size).

    Using the same SIM card is much easier because your account is already activated on it. And SIM cards are designed so that you can pop them in and out of different phones and use the phones easily. As long as your SIM card is the proper size for the phone, it should work in any Verizon LTE device.
     
  4. cybertec69

    cybertec69 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,853
    Likes Received:
    112
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    Ratings:
    +113
    The thing is my S3 will be here within the next few hours. Can I cut my Rezound SIM myself without the tool.
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2012
  5. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
    It should have a micro-sim in the box (most likely). You should be able to activate it via your account online or just call VZW and have them activate it. Then go online and find a micro-sim adapater for $3 and if you ever switch back, just use that so you don't have to switch sim's again! :)
     
  6. cybertec69

    cybertec69 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,853
    Likes Received:
    112
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    Ratings:
    +113
    Yea found a boat load on Amazon, never knew these things existed, another thing learned, thanks fellas.
     
  7. JRParsons

    JRParsons Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mass.
    Ratings:
    +17
    Just got mine an hour ago, there was a new sim in the "getting started" book. Im Coming from a phone with a full size sim.
     
  8. cybertec69

    cybertec69 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,853
    Likes Received:
    112
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    Ratings:
    +113
    I know the S3 comes with a new micro SIM, but after hearing all the nightmares about people losing their unlimited data by activating the S3 "I know Verizon will fix it, but why go through the hassle" with the new micro SIM, I figured why not just swap my existing SIM which is already activated on my account and just pop it in the S3, and like this I can just swap phones for different situations. By the way my Fedex guy is probably sleeping somewhere, hehe.
     
  9. JRParsons

    JRParsons Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mass.
    Ratings:
    +17
    Fair enough, my activation was smooth and I still have unlimited. Your gonna like the phone. My fed ex guy was here around 10, I wasn't going to shower or s#@t until he arrived. Enjoy
     
  10. cybertec69

    cybertec69 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,853
    Likes Received:
    112
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    Ratings:
    +113
    Just received it 5 minutes ago, just plugged in the charger to fully charge before activating it, will try to cut down my standard SIM from Rezound to fit into the S3.

    Sent from my HTC Rezound with ICS using Droid Forums
     
  11. cybertec69

    cybertec69 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,853
    Likes Received:
    112
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    Ratings:
    +113
    Ok, put in the new Micro SIM that came with device, everything went smooth and my unlimited data is still there. Now time to set up all my Apps and other items.
     
Search tags for this page
does the galaxy s3 have a sim card
,

galaxy s3 sim card

,

galaxy s3 sim card size

,
galaxy s3 sim size
,
s3 sim card size
,

samsung galaxy s3 sim card size

,
samsung s3 sim card size
,
sim card for galaxy s3
,
what size sim card for galaxy s3
,
what size sim card for samsung galaxy s3