Galaxy Note 4 with Android 5.1.1 TouchWiz Stops

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by bs1946, Dec 19, 2015.

  1. bs1946

    bs1946 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have a Galaxy Note 4 running Android 5.1.1. with Samsung TouchWiz Home 1.0. All of a sudden, I get a message on the screen that says TouchWiz has stopped and I lose the ability to use the touchscreen. I have to fiddle with the buttons on the bottom or sometimes restart the phone.

    I went to the AT&T store today for some help and was asked if I had tried to remove the battery, put it back, and restart the phone. I told the rep that I have two batteries and I swap them out every other day. His only other answer was that problems like this crop up in Android phones when they get older and there wasn't anything he could do. My phone is only 10 months old. I tried clearing the cache in TouchWiz and that hasn't helped.

    Would appreciate help from anybody who has an idea of how to fix this problem.
     
  2. Jeffrey

    Jeffrey Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6,686
    Likes Received:
    3,548
    Trophy Points:
    1,578
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +4,036
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7 Plus JB
    If the device is still under warranty, why not have AT&T replace it?
     
  3. bs1946

    bs1946 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Forgot about that. Thanks for reminding me.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Jeffrey

    Jeffrey Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6,686
    Likes Received:
    3,548
    Trophy Points:
    1,578
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +4,036
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7 Plus JB
    Let us know....
     
  5. bs1946

    bs1946 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well as magically as this TouchWiz problem began, it has stopped. Since I haven't changed any settings myself since I went to the AT&T store, I'm guessing that one of what seems like daily updates to one app or another fixed it and it was probably some app update that broke it in the first place. I still have over two months of warranty coverage left, so if it comes back, I'll be at AT&T in a heartbeat.

    Any it was good to know that AT&T is still in head to head competition with Comcast to provide the worst customer service and support in the U.S. and perhaps the world.