Galaxy Nexus POSSIBLE signal fix

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Nexus' started by HarjoKong, Mar 7, 2012.

  1. HarjoKong

    HarjoKong New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Shutdown and remove the battery for 30 seconds. Fixed? Mine is. :)

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
     
  2. tgyberg

    tgyberg Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,942
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +323
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6, 7, & 9
    Some have luck removing the sim card for a bit as well. Glad the battery deal worked for ya!
     
  3. patmw123

    patmw123 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,759
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +78
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    4.0.4 did all the work for me :biggrin:
     
  4. Ed ke6bnl

    Ed ke6bnl Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I lost reception at my house after working good, I called Verizon and I was instructed to remove battery and the sim card for one minute and after reboot it did not work and they referred me to a tech. by the time he was on the line the phone was working better then it had in the past.
     
  5. MR H3LLMAN

    MR H3LLMAN Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Marietta, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just to explain this a bit, on non 4G phones we always dialed *228 to update roaming/prl. If we do this on a 4G phone things get messed up. This old *228 process is done automatically every time your phone starts up.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  6. KeepItReal

    KeepItReal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    i was told to use *22899 which is the "fast" path to updated the PRL on a phone without pressing either "1" or "2" when you dial *228 by itself. A brief message appeared on the screen stating that the update had occurred. However, this is just for updating towers in your area. Honestly, from what I understand, *22899 does not do much and is not really necessary. It only works if in your area a new "group" of towers are created in your area and you need to add that groups towers PRL's. This rarely to never happens. In your area, you are already in a "group"; if they add a new tower to that group you automatically get access to it without doing *228.

    Sent from my Xoom using DroidForums
     
  7. eagle923

    eagle923 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    This works for me every time at work. I seem to lose cellular signal (voice, not data) after a switch from WiFi to 4g or back. After a battery pull I get voice back.

    Is this something they can fix via software? Its getting annoying to have to reboot my phone to talk on it.
     
  8. MR H3LLMAN

    MR H3LLMAN Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Marietta, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not to my knowledge as devices require a restart for the new prl version to take effect. Also, I wouldn't use *22899 or any variation of that on the GNex. From what I understand it is actually harmful to your sim card if you do. I would contact Verizon directly if you have done so and are having issues.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  9. Wadzii

    Wadzii Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    My orignal gnex didnt have any signal issues at all.. then i smashed it. It took 3 different NEW replacements from asurion before they got me one that could hold a 4g signal. After talking to several people at verizon I have come to find out that it is a very common complaint and they will replace it as many times as it takes to get a working phone.
     
  10. GalaxyFlatulence

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
  11. jntdroid

    jntdroid Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,455
    Likes Received:
    315
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +317
    hmmm... a little lacking in QA I'd say... :blink:
     
Search tags for this page
galaxy nexus antenna fix
,

galaxy nexus reception fix

,

galaxy nexus signal fix

,
galaxy nexus signal strength fix
,
how to fix signal on galaxy nexus
,
samsung galaxy nexus reception fix
,
samsung galaxy nexus signal fix
,
samsung nexus reception fix
,
samsung nexus signal fix
,
verizon galaxy nexus signal strength fix