FYI Swype beta seems ok on Bionic

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by Tonik, Jun 20, 2012.

  1. Tonik

    Tonik Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +67
    I signed up earlier today, got my login almost instantly and installed it. No problems and works fine.

    I am rooted. Basically I made a copy of the OEM swype on my SD-External. Froze Swype TiBU and swithced to manual keyboard. Then downloaded and installed and rebooted. Then in keyboard settings the new beta is there. I actually don't think you need to freeze the old one....they have different names and show up different in the keyboard menu.
     
  2. nobreak1970

    nobreak1970 Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am loving it. You can have them both installed at the same time.
    They show up as 2 different keyboards in the list to choose from.
     
  3. Tonik

    Tonik Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +67
    Yep, I see that now. You don't need to freeze or do anything. I don't think you even need root, just need to allow unsigned or third party apps...what ever that setting is. I too am loving it, the new keyboard layout is awesome. It seems far better at predicting what I am doing...and it automatically learns as you type...it keeps getting better.
     
  4. aaf709

    aaf709 Nice Guy
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,180
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +49
    Thanks! I'll have to give it a shot.
     
  5. DRX1983

    DRX1983 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm not rooted and just downloaded the the Swype Beta and it installed flawlessly and now I'm enjoying the new Swype Beta on my unrooted Bionic and loving it.
     
  6. Asylem

    Asylem Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Y'all have got me interested in this. Do you have a link to get this file? I have been browsing google and nothing jumped out at me. Thanks in advance!
     
  7. aaf709

    aaf709 Nice Guy
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,180
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +49
    I'm not rooted either, but was part of the swype beta team when I had the OG Droid. I signed in and got it set up. The site even says it'll work alongside built-in swype.

    Again, thanks to the OP for posting this.

    I had the link buried in my Google emails, but did a quick look using "Swype Beta Android." Anyway, the link is Swype | Text Input for Screens
     
    #7 aaf709, Jun 20, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2012
  8. Asylem

    Asylem Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks i'm downloading now!