fully stock > final OTA Update help!

Chao34

Reaction score
I'm currently running a fully stocked Rezound (never been rooted). I desperately need an update the the final OTA. However, I am overseas already and don't have US signal anymore. I am not able to get an automatic update through WiFi here. I've downloaded the RuRu; but when I try to install it a 'red triangle' pops up. I'm a noob with this. Appreciate any advice.

acejavelin

Reaction score
You can not update OTA when you not on Verizon's network, BUT you can download the RUU and install it manually, you can download it here: [Exclusive Download] HTC Rezound Ice Cream Sandwich RUU For Final OTA (3.14.605.12) it will do a factory wipe, so backup any data you need before-hand.

If you are getting a red triangle, it means you are likely not stock or the RUU is corrupt, since you claim to be completely stock (stock, locked, S-ON, and not rooted or anything) the RUU is likely corrupt, try downloading it again then verify the MD5 sum to what is posted on AP's website.

This is the official OTA ROM image, but this does NOT add Global Mode options, just thought I would mention that since you said you are overseas.

MrSmith317

Premium Member
Reaction score
Cha34, that's the Global RUU. The RUU that Ace pointed you to is the latest OTA RUU. I don't believe that the global RUU carries full firmware, and that you should go from at least 3.14.605.10 (which was the last leak of ICS with new firmware) to 4.03.605.10 .

acejavelin

Reaction score
Thanks ace, but I saw this posting: [Update: Global Confirmed] Big Verizon HTC Rezound 4.03.605.1 OTA Update Rolling Out, Bringing Global Capabilities [Installation Instructions] - Anyone tried this yet?

Also, A noob question. will I need to root the device or alter anything? or do I simply place the RUU into the SD?