Full System Backup Using Nandroid

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by fiver643, Aug 29, 2010.

  1. fiver643

    fiver643 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Riverside, CALI
    Ratings:
    +0
    please bear with me i really dont know what im talking about lol

    heres a link to what im trying to do.

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-news/75015-how-root-droid-2-2-out-rsdlite.html

    when i get to this step "Step 1: Boot into SPRecovery
    Power down the Droid completely.
    While holding “X” on the physical keyboard, hold the power button to turn on the phone. You may let go of the power button, but do not let go of X."

    a white triangle with a yellow explanation mark appears with a phone next to it. what does it mean? and how do i fix?

    thanks
     
  2. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    this is stock recovery. you didnt have a successful flash of SPRecovery
     
  3. fiver643

    fiver643 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Riverside, CALI
    Ratings:
    +0
    so i dont have to do this step? it says to do it at least once a month to back up all my stuff.
     
  4. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    are you rooted?
     
  5. fiver643

    fiver643 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Riverside, CALI
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes. i used the universal androot. i did everything it said in the link i post.
     
  6. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    just reflash SPR or download ROM manager to flash Clockwork
     
  7. fiver643

    fiver643 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Riverside, CALI
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok i have download "rom manager" and "flash clockwork". so i can just back up all my stuff with this? and if something happens to my phone i can restore my phone with "backup current rom"? from the drop down menu in rom manager.
    sorry for all the questions im very new to all this and just want to make sure i know what im doing. if i mess up my phone.
    thanks so much
     
  8. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    yup - power up holding x and ull see the menu you want to do all that stuff in
     
  9. fiver643

    fiver643 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Riverside, CALI
    Ratings:
    +0
    well see when i power up holding "x" thats when i get the white triangle with the explanation mark. the menu thingy doesnt pop up.
     
  10. Teezy

    Teezy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    A House.
    Ratings:
    +0
    Weird how you're rooted and don't have a recovery mode.
    Use ROM Manager to flash ClockWorkMod and then try booting into recovery again. Or rather, flash ClockWorkMod a couple times, and also try different versions. Alternatively (and also as a last resort), you could flash SPRecovery from RM and then continue with the process lol.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  11. xliderider

    xliderider Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Ratings:
    +1
    That's the problem with Clockwork Mod recovery, it doesn't always "take" when flashed. I always flash CWM recovery 2 or 3 times to make it stick.

    To the OP, I recommend making backups in BOTH SPRecovery and Clockwork Mod Recovery so you can recover no matter what recovery you are currently using. The backups aren't compatible with each other.
     
  12. fiver643

    fiver643 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Riverside, CALI
    Ratings:
    +0
    do you think i should try to uninstall DMupdater? also when i go to my app and click on DMupdater it says " your recovery image needs to be updated. continuing will void your warranty" and i can click on "i understand the risk" or "quit(recommended)". does that have any thing to do with it?
     
  13. Teezy

    Teezy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    A House.
    Ratings:
    +0

    Yeah, continue with it!

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  14. fiver643

    fiver643 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Riverside, CALI
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks i'll give it a try. i was kind of scared to do it because it makes you confirm it twice. thank you everyone for all the info. hopefully this works
     
  15. Teezy

    Teezy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    A House.
    Ratings:
    +0
    No problem. And if anything unfortunate happens or something fails and your phone is rendered useless (won't turn on or whatev), you can just flash an SBF from RSDLite and yadda yadda but if you're a good reader, you'll be fine. The double confirmation thing is like defiance of your conscience xD

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
Search tags for this page

android full system backup

,
full toshiba thrive backup
,
how do i back up a toshiba thrive
,

how to backup toshiba thrive

,
how to nandroid backup a toshiba thrive
,
nandroid backup toshiba thrive
,
system backup
,
toshiba thrive backup
,
toshiba thrive complete backup
,

toshiba thrive system backup