1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Full System Backup Using Nandroid

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by fiver643, Aug 29, 2010.

  1. fiver643
    Offline

    fiver643 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Riverside, CALI
    please bear with me i really dont know what im talking about lol

    heres a link to what im trying to do.

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-news/75015-how-root-droid-2-2-out-rsdlite.html

    when i get to this step "Step 1: Boot into SPRecovery
    Power down the Droid completely.
    While holding “X” on the physical keyboard, hold the power button to turn on the phone. You may let go of the power button, but do not let go of X."

    a white triangle with a yellow explanation mark appears with a phone next to it. what does it mean? and how do i fix?

    thanks
  2. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 RS/Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,343
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    this is stock recovery. you didnt have a successful flash of SPRecovery
  3. fiver643
    Offline

    fiver643 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Riverside, CALI
    so i dont have to do this step? it says to do it at least once a month to back up all my stuff.
  4. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 RS/Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,343
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    are you rooted?
  5. fiver643
    Offline

    fiver643 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Riverside, CALI
    yes. i used the universal androot. i did everything it said in the link i post.
  6. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 RS/Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,343
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    just reflash SPR or download ROM manager to flash Clockwork
  7. fiver643
    Offline

    fiver643 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Riverside, CALI
    ok i have download "rom manager" and "flash clockwork". so i can just back up all my stuff with this? and if something happens to my phone i can restore my phone with "backup current rom"? from the drop down menu in rom manager.
    sorry for all the questions im very new to all this and just want to make sure i know what im doing. if i mess up my phone.
    thanks so much
  8. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 RS/Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,343
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    yup - power up holding x and ull see the menu you want to do all that stuff in
  9. fiver643
    Offline

    fiver643 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Riverside, CALI
    well see when i power up holding "x" thats when i get the white triangle with the explanation mark. the menu thingy doesnt pop up.
  10. Teezy
    Offline

    Teezy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    A House.
    Weird how you're rooted and don't have a recovery mode.
    Use ROM Manager to flash ClockWorkMod and then try booting into recovery again. Or rather, flash ClockWorkMod a couple times, and also try different versions. Alternatively (and also as a last resort), you could flash SPRecovery from RM and then continue with the process lol.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  11. xliderider
    Offline

    xliderider New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    That's the problem with Clockwork Mod recovery, it doesn't always "take" when flashed. I always flash CWM recovery 2 or 3 times to make it stick.

    To the OP, I recommend making backups in BOTH SPRecovery and Clockwork Mod Recovery so you can recover no matter what recovery you are currently using. The backups aren't compatible with each other.
  12. fiver643
    Offline

    fiver643 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Riverside, CALI
    do you think i should try to uninstall DMupdater? also when i go to my app and click on DMupdater it says " your recovery image needs to be updated. continuing will void your warranty" and i can click on "i understand the risk" or "quit(recommended)". does that have any thing to do with it?
  13. Teezy
    Offline

    Teezy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    A House.

    Yeah, continue with it!

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  14. fiver643
    Offline

    fiver643 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Riverside, CALI
    thanks i'll give it a try. i was kind of scared to do it because it makes you confirm it twice. thank you everyone for all the info. hopefully this works
  15. Teezy
    Offline

    Teezy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    A House.
    No problem. And if anything unfortunate happens or something fails and your phone is rendered useless (won't turn on or whatev), you can just flash an SBF from RSDLite and yadda yadda but if you're a good reader, you'll be fine. The double confirmation thing is like defiance of your conscience xD

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  16. fiver643
    Offline

    fiver643 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Riverside, CALI
    please help i bricked me phone. still powers on but every thing force closes
  17. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 RS/Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,343
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    then its not a brick. what did yo just install that could be the culprit
  18. fiver643
    Offline

    fiver643 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Riverside, CALI
    DMUpdater, i did the image recovery update(or what ever it is) the phone turned off/on then thats when everything started crashing.
  19. fiver643
    Offline

    fiver643 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Riverside, CALI
    i got the "welcome to sprecovery" screen up. which option do i choose?
    reboot system now
    wipe data/factory reset
    wipe cache partition
    backup/restore(i tried this and it just loads and nothing else)
    install
  20. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 RS/Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,343
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    what are you trying to do? you installed SPR and you get system FCs? this doesnt make sense
Search tags for this page
android bionic backup if almost full what to do
,

android full system backup

,
full toshiba thrive backup
,
how do i back up a toshiba thrive
,

how to backup toshiba thrive

,
how to do full backup of toshiba thrive
,
how to nandroid backup a toshiba thrive
,
motorola droid x2 backup of complete system
,

nandroid backup toshiba thrive

,
perform system backup on toshiba thrive
,
system backup
,
toshiba thrive backup
,

toshiba thrive complete backup

,
toshiba thrive complete system backup
,

toshiba thrive system backup