Frustrated

sm6520

New Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2011
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Location
Houston, Texas
I'm back because I want to root my Droid 2 Global again. Needless to say I have been trying to figure this out for the past 3 hours. I actually got the z4 root on my droid today, but I keep getting message that its been denied superuser permission. So far I have been on this site, xda, you tube.  Everything is from 2010. I know I have to read and follow instructions but these posts look so outdated and I just want to know if its still possible like it once was. All I want to have is the capability of doing screen shots. I will gladly pay DarkOnion if I can get the 2012 version of root! Sorry for the rant.
 

bruben7886

Diamond Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2011
Messages
1,687
Reaction score
1,728
Use pete's one click root. Works for d2g just fine. Read the FAQ thread in the d2g forum.

Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
 
OP
sm6520

sm6520

New Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2011
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Location
Houston, Texas
That is a great FAQ, but I know what about 80% of those terms mean. Didn't see anything about Pete. Did a search on Pete's one click, but just takes me back to some 2009 post that is outdated.
 

bruben7886

Diamond Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2011
Messages
1,687
Reaction score
1,728
No prob. I have to go to work now, but I will find the link sometime tonight (it's on my pc) or tomorrow and I will post it.

Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
 
OP
sm6520

sm6520

New Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2011
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Location
Houston, Texas
Thank you Bruben. I have honestly been working on this all morning. Not trying to find the easy way out, just a little direction. I appreciate your help!
 

smalltowngirl13

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 9, 2010
Messages
7,044
Reaction score
912
Location
Kansas
Current Phone Model
Z Force 2
Twitter
smalltownlife13
And welcome to the forum!
 

bruben7886

Diamond Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2011
Messages
1,687
Reaction score
1,728
Ok......found it

http://www.psouza4.com/Bionic/

Works for d2g, z4 stopped working on gingerbread. I can confirm this works on d2g GB because I use it on mine.
Good luck!

Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
 
OP
sm6520

sm6520

New Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2011
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Location
Houston, Texas
Thank you small-town girl! I have been here before, but it's been a looong time. I have a mac, so I don't think that link is going to work for me.
 

smalltowngirl13

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 9, 2010
Messages
7,044
Reaction score
912
Location
Kansas
Current Phone Model
Z Force 2
Twitter
smalltownlife13
Thank you small-town girl! I have been here before, but it's been a looong time. I have a mac, so I don't think that link is going to work for me.

Then it should have read "welcome back" :)...good luck on the root, keep us posted!
 
OP
sm6520

sm6520

New Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2011
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Location
Houston, Texas
It doesn't say where I am suppose to dnld the zip file. Phone or Mac? I tried dnldg it to my phone using web browser and it says dnld unsuccessful.

Ok, I put the file on my phone and unzipped it, then what? The only thing that will open is superuser.apk and I get a parsing error. BTW, I have superuser already on my phone.

I will willingly donate to whoever successfully takes credit for rooting my phone, lol!
 
Last edited:

smalltowngirl13

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 9, 2010
Messages
7,044
Reaction score
912
Location
Kansas
Current Phone Model
Z Force 2
Twitter
smalltownlife13
You need to download to a PC once downloaded, open and then follow the instructions on the screen...your phone will have to be connected via USB (charge mode if I remember right) and USB debugging checked and then select the appropriate number to "root" device - the device will reboot a couple of times along the way until the process is finished and then safely remove from the PC (if necessary)...
 
OP
sm6520

sm6520

New Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2011
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Location
Houston, Texas
This is the only thing I can open and I am assuming they are instructions. ?? Am I suppose to understand this mumbo jumbo? Maybe I am just plain stoopid, lol. No instructions just appear on the screen, I have to open up this txt for instructions, if that is what they are. Phone is connected and not sure about the "select the appropriate number" as you suggested. I am totally lost. Y'all seriously do not need to keep walking me thru it all. It's not a life or death situation, just want to screen shot, but I have wasted my entire day off trying to figure this out. I wish I could just take it somewhere and pay to have it done..sorry for ranting again. I cut and pasted what the plain txt file says.

#!/bin/bash
#
# Modified from origial script by Framework, psouza4_, method by bliss
#
# Security Research by Dan Rosenberg
#
# Some things from Continuum one-click script by bubby323 (OSX support mainly)
#
# v7a - updated from psouza's v7, added check for already rooted, added check in case root fails
# v7b - attempt to better set up adb on OSX, removed Windows files from package, call for pc only mode
# v7c - rework platform detection/adb setup, handle case where system adb is installed
# This is what I get for copying bubby323's script. Sigh.
# v7d - document charge mode for mac, remove initial kill-server


if [ ! -f busybox -o ! -f su -o ! -f Superuser.apk ]
then
cat <<_EOF
! Error
!
! You must extract the entire contents of the zip file and then run this script
! from the directory where the zip was extracted.
_EOF
exit 1
fi


platform=`uname`
if [ $(uname -p) = 'powerpc' ]; then
echo "Sorry, this won't work on PowerPC machines."
exit 1
fi
which adb > /dev/null 2>&1
if [ $? -eq 1 ]; then
if [ "$platform" = 'Darwin' ]; then
adb="./adb.osx"
else
adb="./adb.linux"
fi
chmod +x $adb
else
adb="adb"
fi
$adb kill-server > /dev/null 2>&1
root=$($adb shell su -c id | grep uid=0)
if [ ! -z "$root" ]; then
cat <<_EOF
*
* Hey wierdo, your phone is already rooted.
*
_EOF
exit 1;
fi
cat <<_EOF
***************************************************************************
* *
* DROID 3 Easy Root script v7d *
* *
***************************************************************************
*
* Please make sure you meet these pre-requisites:
*
* (a) install the correct driver... er, nevermind, we don't need no stinkin' drivers
* (b) turn on USB debugging (on your phone under Settings -> Applications)
* (c) plug in your phone and set your USB mode to 'PC Mode' (on Linux)
* or 'Charge Only' mode (on Mac)
* (but if it hangs waiting for the phone to connect, set it the other way)
*
* READY TO ROOT YOUR DROID 3 WHEN YOU ARE!
*
_EOF
read -n1 -s -p "* Press enter to continue..."
cat <<_EOF


*
* Waiting for your phone to be connected...
*
_EOF
$adb wait-for-device
$adb wait-for-device
echo "* Running exploit [part 1 of 3]..."
$adb shell "if [ -e /data/local/12m.bak ]; then rm /data/local/12m.bak; fi"
$adb shell mv /data/local/12m /data/local/12m.bak
$adb shell ln -s /data /data/local/12m
$adb reboot


cat <<_EOF
*
* Rebooting the phone... when the reboot is complete, you may need to unlock the phone to continue.
*
_EOF


$adb kill-server
$adb wait-for-device
$adb wait-for-device
echo "* Running exploit [part 2 of 3]..."
$adb shell rm /data/local/12m
$adb shell mv /data/local/12m.bak /data/local/12m
$adb shell "if [ -e /data/local.prop.bak ]; then rm /data/local.prop.bak; fi"
$adb shell mv /data/local.prop /data/local.prop.bak
$adb shell 'echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_netmon_usb=0" > /data/local.prop'
$adb shell 'echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_netmon_ih=0" > /data/local.prop'
$adb shell 'echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_res_core=0" >> /data/local.prop'
$adb shell 'echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_res_panic=0" >> /data/local.prop'
$adb shell 'echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_all_adb=1" >> /data/local.prop'
$adb shell 'echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_all_core=0" >> /data/local.prop'
$adb shell 'echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_efem=0" >> /data/local.prop'
$adb shell 'echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_bp_log=0" >> /data/local.prop'
$adb shell 'echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_ap_mot_log=0" >> /data/local.prop'
$adb shell 'echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_gki_log=0" >> /data/local.prop'
$adb reboot


cat <<_EOF
*
* Rebooting the phone... when the reboot is complete, you may need to unlock the phone to continue.
*
_EOF


$adb kill-server
$adb wait-for-device
$adb wait-for-device
root=$($adb shell id | grep uid=0)
if [ -z "$root" ]; then
cat <<_EOF
! ERROR: root was not obtained.
!
! You might want to try rebooting your phone and trying again.
_EOF
exit 1;
fi
echo "* Running exploit [part 3 of 3]..."


$adb remount
$adb push busybox /system/xbin/busybox
$adb push su /system/xbin/su
$adb install Superuser.apk
$adb shell chmod 4755 /system/xbin/su
$adb shell chmod 755 /system/xbin/busybox
$adb shell /system/xbin/busybox --install -s /system/xbin/
$adb shell ln -s /system/xbin/su /system/bin/su
$adb shell chown system.system /data


cat << _EOF
*
* ALL DONE! YOUR PHONE SHOULD BE ROOTED!
*
******************************************************************************


_EOF
 
Last edited:

MissionImprobable

Silver Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2011
Messages
2,040
Reaction score
142
Pete's Motorola Root Tools Download the One Click Tool if you haven't yet

Here's a video doing the full walkthrough, it's the same for all Moto devices. Actual rooting instructions begin around 2:35 on the vid:
[video=youtube;n9gOLlFlMjw]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n9gOLlFlMjw&feature=relmfu[/video]
Make sure you have the Moto drivers installed on your computer.

With One Click the way it is now you literally don't have to do anything but plug the phone in--making sure you're using a true Moto USB cable, no other type will work--and run One Click.

Just realized you're on a Mac, so make sure you follow the slight difference in instructions here. Make sure you're in Charge Only mode:
http://rootzwiki.com/topic/3216-roo...dows-linux-osx/page__view__findpost__p__74595
 
Last edited:
Top