Frozen @ Liberty Boot Screen

Discussion in 'Liberty ROM DX' started by Capper, Apr 28, 2011.

  1. Capper
    Offline

    Capper New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am having a big problem, and at this point am pretty frustrated.
    I SBFed a fresh 2.3.34, rebooted installed the donate version of Toolbox and followed the instructions on the initial screen (SBF, BootStrap, install Liberty 2.01) and it does nothing. Every time I've tried installing GB .3, it freezes at a darkened screen that just says "Liberty". I can do nothing but pull the battery and SBF back again....WTF am I doing wrong? 0
  2. Draken
    Offline

    Draken New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are you on Ginger .588 or froyo?
  3. Capper
    Offline

    Capper New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    SBFed back to a fresh 2.3.34, so FROYO.
  4. Draken
    Offline

    Draken New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    wait when you go to LB Gingerbread aare you going to 0.1 first then updating to 0.4
  5. Capper
    Offline

    Capper New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, the thing is its not letting me install anything.
    From a fresh SBF, I installed Z4Root, rebooted, installed the Toolbox, rebooted, installed the Bootstrapper, rebooted, then have tried both Liberty 2.01 and GB .3 (which was the latest when I started this ordeal)....and it just freezes at the "Liberty" screen....and the only way I can get out is a battery pull and another SBF.
  6. Draken
    Offline

    Draken New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In order to get Liberty working you have to install the 0.1 version first. The other versions are just updates. So just install version 0.1 full (if you are on Froyo) and if not the the other version 0.1. then go to version 0.4( latest version now)
  7. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    are you doing a data wipe during install of roms? i can understand having problems going straight to 0.3 but going to 2.01 should be flawless with a data wipe.
  8. Koveleski
    Offline

    Koveleski Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Poughkeepsie
    Well, .3 wasn't a full release. Just for kicks, try this method:

    1. SBF to .340
    2. Root with Z4Root and then confirm root.
    3. Install Toolbox and bootstrap.
    4. Download 0.4 FULL zip, don't install.
    5. Boot into recovery. Wipe data.
    6. Install zip from sdcard. (browse to the directory with the liberty zip)
    7. Reboot. Give it a full 10 min.

    Come back and tell me it worked. If you report back otherwise, I'll murder this marzipan I'm staring at.
  9. Capper
    Offline

    Capper New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ooooooh.......marzipan......
  10. chefb
    Offline

    chefb Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Download over wifi for best results
  11. Capper
    Offline

    Capper New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tried this twice....followed instructions to the letter. Frozen with a black fist in an orange circle......I'm about to lose my mind
  12. Koveleski
    Offline

    Koveleski Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Poughkeepsie
    Okay, than I have one alternative left to offer (well two, but I know you won't like that option).

    First, try doing the three zip method over at MyDroidWorld to get your device onto the GB leak. If that runs successfully and boots up, then you could then flash the 0.4 non-full zip. If that doesn't work, I'm out of ideas.

    The second option would be to mail me your phone and I'll put Liberty on it. ;) Or (cause I've done this before) we could skype and I could watch you do all the steps and see if I catch something, lol.

    I do recommend the MDW method though to see if that will help bump your phone up to GB first before doing Liberty.
  13. Capper
    Offline

    Capper New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'll try the MDW method tomorrow. I'm beat and dreaming of marzipan....
  14. Capper
    Offline

    Capper New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK, back at it....something else strange. When I installed the Toolbox, I cant connect via Wifi, it keeps dropping the connection (it seems to be fighting with something, going from connected to acquiring, to obtaining IP). If I uninstall Toolbox my Wifi immediately connects fine.
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2011
  15. bobAbooey
    Offline

    bobAbooey New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use this when nothing else works.

    Power down phone (pull battery)
    Plug charger into wall outlet and plug into phone.
    Wait for the logo to go away, the battery charging icon should pop up, I wait till till the screen goes black and then I power on like normal.

    This always gets my back to normal. I always have to restore a backup though, just rebooting will send you back to the start.
  16. Juicemane
    Offline

    Juicemane Bang Bang Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,098
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    So Ive SBF'd twice today and Im not really happy about it. Went from a fresh sbf froyo install, root, boot strap, install .04 full, now im stuck and the yellow/black fist image. Let it sit for 15 minutes, no boot animation, nothing. Happened twice already. Had no problems installing .01 or .03. Going to try to sbf one more time and install .01, .03, then ,04 and see what happens.
  17. dakisback
    Offline

    dakisback New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Long time lurker here. I have been having this exact same problem. ever since doing the 0.4 Liberty GB nightly, I have been having trouble getting past the boot logo. I can't even restore backups properly even after sbf back to .340 they always hang at boot logo :/
  18. debrad0307
    Offline

    debrad0307 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    I actually had the same problem. Mine was about a week ago. I got stuck at the boot screen and all of my back ups were gone. I ended up sbf'ing back to stock, erasing everything on my SD card rerooting, and installed liberty 2.0.1. I haven't tried the GB nightly yet.. waiting to see if this issue gets fixed.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  19. craig7220
    Offline

    craig7220 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've had boot loops alot but I flashed everytime a new thing comes along. I've only had to sbf twice and that was my doing. I pull the battery, that hold down the home key and power button. When you see the logo, release buttons. When you see the little guy with the triangle, press both volume buttons at same time. At the blue menu, scroll down to wipe and factory reset. Use the power button to make selection and after its done, reboot. This has gotten me out of about every bootloop I've encountered.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  20. debrad0307
    Offline

    debrad0307 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Tried that, it screwed it up even more.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
Search tags for this page

droid x froze on liberty boot screen

,

droid x liberty rom 2.0.1 hang at boot

,

liberty and screen freezes