froyo

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by Shelooga, Jun 7, 2010.

  1. Shelooga

    Shelooga Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Flyers Country
    Ratings:
    +0
    this section is eerily quiet about this, but Chevy, any approximate eta for a 2.2 rom? apps2sd and snappiness and flash and updated baseband sound fun. not sure if ill try the release im reading about today. 1 bc i have class right after work 2 bc jess wants to get down with the get down after that and 3 the issues im reading. and somehow, im willing to wait for a solid, bugless version, not just the first available (which from what im reading sounds very buggy and so not solid it can almost be called liquid)

    thanks in advance, and the beer will flow like wine
     
  2. Sam

    Sam Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,467
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    Ratings:
    +1
    buggy? not mine...
     
  3. etx_droid

    etx_droid Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Kilgore, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah mine either, I came from Chevy's ROM (which I love) but I'm having no show stopping issues at all...
     
  4. Shelooga

    Shelooga Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Flyers Country
    Ratings:
    +0
    i just read about camera issues and map issues. neither seem unfixable or even annoying, im just lazy. ive settled down flashing roms twice a day and rearranging icons over and over, so when i get 2.2, i want it to stick. i have a feeling i may test the waters anyway in the 1.5 hours i have to not do hw and droid
     
  5. korp

    korp Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    When I installed it was buggy ... seem to freeze or slow up at random times. I would give it maybe a week and something is bound to popup to have increased stability.

    Side note .... when I tried to restore data onto 2.2 it went into a boot loop and never would start up.
     
  6. Skull One

    Skull One Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    I am running Froyo 2.2 with no issues. In fact this load out is more stable than any 2.1, first release, ROMs I have run to date.

    Odds are you are looking at one of three issues.
    1) Bad download.
    2) Bad install.
    3) Bad voltage level for the kernel.
     
  7. Abadus

    Abadus Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I have not had issues with 2.2. Working great :D

    That being said I am sure Chevy is cooking up something good. He always does. It is funny I love his rom's because of how they work and mostly how they look. I am really itching for this as well ;P Even if it was a SS themed 2.2 rom based on the current build.

    I am sure this has probally changed his plans about 3.3.
     
  8. Sam

    Sam Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,467
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    Ratings:
    +1
    i'm gonna go with option 2
     
  9. 7h3.4pp12en7ic3

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would add 1 more issue:
    Not waiting for market to automatically reinstall apps. Slow as hell while it does that, but afterwards, it flies!
     
  10. ???

    ??? Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    i'll throw a buggy vote in. and i didn't even care about the maps or most of the other things most of the threads were about. i tryed 2 times once with apps and flash plug in. the 2nd time i wipped over and over and over,(first time i wipped 3 times) flashed the rom and just the over clock so i could get 3g back and let whatever apps install that wanted too. well i did install the flash plug in to play with at the very end of the 2nd clean install. just to see if it was better, it wasn't.



    spend all day with it, and it just plain wouldn't work right. open a few browser tabs and it starts getting super hot, watch a video and 2 mins in i was worried it was hurt something hot. and thats clocked down at 600. 550 wasn't an option. all that heat killed my battery like no tomorrow too


    throw in the newest baseband didn't work for me at all, 1x randomly where i never get 1x. so i went back to the .01. fixed my 3g but not anything else.


    the 5 home screens could be nice, but not being able to browse the web like i want or use the flash video (anyone try fastforwarding? lol) and what was the point? i mean it bench marked faster, but i sure couldn't tell from using it.


    and any time you leave the browser and check a new email, or text, i'd switch back and it would have to reload the web page all over again, meaning more heat, and more waiting because once it starts reloading if you hit X to stop it, the page goes blank.



    i really hope someone like chevy can make it work right... i really want my flash update.
     
  11. Skull One

    Skull One Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    I am curious who's kernel, speed and voltage you use on your working ROM?
     
  12. ???

    ??? Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3


    the one linked to me in the offical 2.2 for root user thread. i'll link it.





    it was the 1k one, and i normally used it at 600 but i did try it at 400 and played with it at 1k for only a short time to see if loading the pages faster might help, or if the video play back on motogp.com would not be choppy at 1k. but it still was and just seemed to get hot quicker.


    Froyo Overclocked Kernels includes *wifi* fix


    the 250 to 1k


    i've always run chevy's low voltage 7 slot 1k over clock with no issues on 2.1